Skip to Search


Faculty Governance at the University of Florida Libraries

Minutes - May 12, 2008: 3:00pm

Marston Science Library, Room L107

Joe Aufmuth called the Assembly to order at 3:03 PM.

The agenda was approved as distributed.

The minutes for the April 21, 2008 meeting were approved with a correction that Chris Vallandingham should be Christopher

There were no member comments.

Chair's report

Joe Aufmuth reported that the meeting of the Assembly officers, library senators and the directors of the libraries about the future of library assemblies and subassemblies and how shared governance is achieved at each level will be scheduled in August. Misty Swain in the Dean's office is coordinating the meeting date and time. Comments and concerns should be sent to Joe Aufmuth, Vernon Kisling and Christopher Vallandingham.

The second candidate for Smathers Development office position is being interviewed today.

Joe announced the results of the Election of Assembly officers for 2008-2009 and offered his congratulations:

  • Chair: Vernon Kisling
  • Chair-elect: Chistopher Vallandingham (LIC) Three year term
  • Secretary: Linda Butson (HSC) One year term
  • Past Chair: Joe Aufmuth
  • Nominating committee members: Three year terms
    • Public Services: Marilyn Ochoa
    • Technical Services: Hakura Nakano

Nominating officers and committee members will take their seats at the beginning of the academic year (August) as per the revised By-Laws. There is no planned Assembly meeting in June. A July planning meeting will be scheduled for the Assembly officers and library senators.
Issues for the Fall include the Smathers Travel Committee and policies as well as the Assembly Ombudsman committee.

Smathers, Health and Law Administration Updates:

Wallace McLendon, Director of the Health Science Center Libraries, reported that $1600 had been garnered in the HSC Libraries 2007-2008 Development efforts. Bed Davis has been named Development office for the HSC Libraries. The HSC Libraries will be collaborating with Sam Huang to identify and refer contributors to the correct library. .McLendon also reported on Dean Russell's proposal to DSR that they fund the Elsevier subscriptions for 2008-2009. He expressed appreciation for all the cooperative efforts that are being made.

Ed Hart reported that the three of the Legal Information Center's staff will be retiring within the next 6 months: Mary Driggers, Pam Williams and Jean Bostwick. The LIC is being reorganized. Elisabeth Outler will be Head of Public Services Ed Hart will be Head of Technical Services. The LIC will be hiring an additional reference librarian.

Dean Judy Russell reported that the official budget figures for Smathers Libraries had recently been received and nothing has been cut. While the library is interviewing for the staff development position, they have not started interviewing for the grants position which has been funded.. Smathers is working on posting the Associate Dean position. Brian is working on the PVA for the Marston director position. It will be posted at two levels. Dean Russell had not heard anything regarding the proposal to DSR. She reported that one Dean had endorsed the proposal. The proposal will be discussed at the next Deans' breakfast meeting. There is an architecture meeting regarding the Marston building. They are waiting on estimates for the work. The 4% cut of 2007-8 is still in effect. They expect to reduce the OPS budget to cover some operating expenses. There are rumors from Tallahassee that there will be more cuts in October.

Senate Update

Patrick Reakes reported that there had not been a University Faculty Senate meeting since the last Library Faculty Assembly meeting. The agenda for the May 15 Senate meeting includes: faculty concerns about layoffs and input into those decisions, child care, faculty authoring and the Masters in Historical Preservation degree.

Joe Aufmuth reviewed some of the concerns expressed at the Senate Steering Committee re union problems and faculty governance.

Committee Reports

The Nominating Committee representative confirmed the election results announced by Joe in the Chair's report. The responsibilities of the chair –elect will include By-laws and Standing Rules revisions.

Assembly Officer's Reports

Chair elect - Vernon Kisling reported that the proposal for transferring the T and P Committee to the Faculty Assembly had gone to the Directors for their discussion on May 13.

Old Business

Budget Committee Proposal - By-Laws / Standing Rules Revision – Vernon Kisling presented the proposed revisions.

Bylaws --Article VI. Committees

Section 1. Standing Committees. UFLFA standing committees shall consist of the following committees. Each standing committee shall have at least one representative each from the Smathers Libraries, the Health Science Center Libraries, and the Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center.

  • Nominating Committee
  • Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
  • Strategic Planning Committee
  • Ombudsman Committee
  • Libraries Budget Committee


  • 2. Standing Committees
  • 2.1 Nominating Committee
  • 2.2 Strategic Planning Committee
  • 2.3 Ombudsman Committee
  • 2.4 Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
  • 2.5 Libraries Budget Committee

Appointment: Members will be appointed by the UFLFA Chair in consultation with the other officers and will include at least one representative each from the Smathers Libraries, the Health Science Center Libraries, and the Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center.

Chair: The Chair will be elected by the committee after the UFLFA annual meeting.

Responsibilities: The Libraries Budget Committee is charged with collaborating with the Library administrations on the budget process in order to improve transparency of the budget process, to improve communication on budget matters, and to provide faculty input into the budget process.

Meetings: The committee will meet after the UFLFA annual meeting and when requested to do so by the committee Chair.

Term: Committee members shall serve two year staggered terms. Initially members shall be appointed for one, two and three year terms, after which new members shall serve two year terms. If a committee member resigns, a replacement member shall be appointed by the UFLFA Chair in consultation with the other officers to serve out the member's term.

Quorum: A quorum shall consist of a simple majority of the committee members.

Chelsea Dinsmore moved that the proposal be adopted. Patrick Reakes seconded and the motion carried.

Judy Russell reported on the status of the Faculty Recognition Award. This may not be able to be completed before 2008-9. Dr. Debra Walker King, whose office would approve and enact will be starting a fellowship in July 2008 and will not be on campus. There was no report from Betsy Simpson and the UF Libraries group investigating the establishment of an award.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:35 PM.

Next meeting of the UF Library Faculty Assembly will be held in August. A schedule of times and location will be forthcoming.

University of Florida Home Page