Skip to Search

 
diagonal spacer

AlephPro

Integrating Resources
Databases

New databases for cataloging are referred by the ER Unit or by selectors.  The ER Unit should be notified of selector referred databases.

Search title in Aleph:

  • If there is a matching database in Aleph, revise it as needed per the instructions below. 
  • If there is a record for the same database through another aggregator, add the link and associated notes for the additional aggregator to the existing database record.
  • If there is not a matching database record in Aleph, search OCLC for copy.  If copy is found, use it even if you need to change the aggregator/supplier-related parts of the description as well as the link(s) for our local catalog.
  • If copy is not found, create an original record.  

Add/create a separate record for the remotely accessed database in Aleph.  If there is a provisional record in Aleph overlay it with the shared or original record you bring in from Connexion.

For other version of the resource, such as print or other electronic, add a 530 field as needed with an 856 40 (version of resource, as opposed to the resource itself) to match.

Use Bibliographic Level code “i” in your originals, and follow the instructions in Integrating Resources: A Cataloging Manual.  You may use shared copy that has not been updated in OCLC yet with bib level "i" but please make sure that either the 008 or an 006 is present for both computer file and serial aspects.  In cases where the record is serials format, code the 008/21 (SrTp or Type of Continuing Resource) with "d" for updating database and S/L = 2 for integrating resource.

Make sure the 245 has an $$h [electronic resource].

Add 246s for varying titles.  Be generous in your use of 246s.

Revise 5XX notes as needed to reflect any locally provided descriptive information.

Add the 655 form/genre subject: 655 _0 Online databases.

Put 856 field(s) specific to UF in the catalog record.  Add the following subfields to the 856(s).  Remove all other 856 fields from the catalog record.

  • $$y Connect Now
  • $$x "db-direct" when access is direct to the publisher and not aggregator

OR

  • $$x "db-qqqq" where qqqq stands for the name of the aggregator (e.g., db-csa)  This code should have been written on your printout, but if not see Vendor Codes for Electronic Resources.  New aggregators should be forwarded to Naomi for addition to the list.
  • $$z license information for UF users (e.g., "Resource licensed only for UF students, faculty and staff")  If the source is not licensed, do not include the $$z.  Use an additional $$z to record connect information if it is not clear how to access the database after clicking the link.

Use OWN code "PUBLIC".  If there is a matching database record for another OWN location, change the OWN code to "PUBLIC". 

Create Holdings with field 852 with blank indicators and  $$a FU $$b UFER $$c DB

Update the spreadsheet in the Public folder UFLIB/All Public Folders/CatMet Databases/

See also: Integrating Resources: Web sites

Indexed:

Integrating Resources: Databases

Integrating Resources: Databases

              
University of Florida Home Page