Accessibility Assistance

Skip to Content

Technical Services
George A. Smathers Libraries
University of Florida
P.O. Box 117001
Gainesville, FL 32611-7001

Telephone: (352) 273-2505
Fax: (352) 392-7251

Technical Services Alliance (TSA)

The Director of Technical Services chairs the Technical Services Alliance meetings.  These meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month from 9:30a-11:00a in the Smathers Library conference room.

Committee Charge

The Technical Services Alliance encourages partnership and open communication throughout the University of Florida Libraries in regards to technical services projects and programs.  The Alliance’s goal is to advance library services through outreach, needs assessment, and innovation that respond to users’ research and information needs.  The Alliance will lead library discussions concerning technical services and provide advice on setting technical services priorities, practices and strategic initiatives.  The Alliance replaces two standing committees: Technical Services Steering Committee and TS Aleph Implementation Group. 


  • Michele Crump, Interim Director of Technical Services, Chair
  • Steven Carrico, Acquisitions & Licensing
  • Betsy Simpson, Cataloging & Metadata
  • Cathy Martyniak, Preservation
  • Jason Fleming, Technical Support Librarian and FCLA Liaison
  • Rich Bennett, Electronic Access Services Coordinator and FCLA Liaison
  • Erich Kesse, Digital Library Center
  • Tom Minton, Library Web Coordinator
  • Cecilia Botero, Health Science Center Library
  • Ed Hart, Legal Information Center Library
  • Mathew Daley, Access Services
  • Jan Swanbeck, Public Services
  • Carrie Newsom, Resource Navigation Committee
  • Blake Landor, Collection Management
  • Amy Polk, Systems/Library 2.0 Working Group
  • Amy Buhler, Marston Science Library
  • Richard Phillips, Special Collections and Area Studies

Minutes and Agendas


Staff Web | Staff Directory | Library Hours | Privacy Policy

University of Florida Home Page