Home >> Research Guides and Finding Aids >> INTERNATIONAL DEMOGRAPHICS & STATISTICS
INTERNATIONAL DEMOGRAPHICS & STATISTICS
I. Major Resources | II. Data by Topic | III. Article Databases
I. Major Resources
United
Nations Common Database
Selected series from 30 specialized international data
sources for all available countries and areas. Explore the basic view and
the Country profile.
International Data Base
(IDB) / U.S.Census
Coverage is 1950 with projections to 2050. Includes a variety
of demographic data, including population pyramids, summary demographic data.
SourceOECD
Statistical databases and publications (full text) on health,
agriculture, economics, education, employment, globalization, international
development, international migration, international trade, social expenditures,
taxation, environmental performance.
Off
Stats
Foreign Official Statistical Sources
Free data from foreign governments, often with downloadable time series. Foreign
languages
Censuses in the
World
Recent foreign census data listed by country. Some data
better than others. Census usually give information about population, housing,
social & economic factors. Censuses are detailed and contain provincial
and city data. Foreign languages
Statistical Agencies
of Foreign Governments
Central statistical agencies are usually responsible for
censuses and statistical programs. Foreign languages
- Statistics
in Focus
Includes all topics that Eurostat covers in abbreviated format. - Eurostat
Yearbook
Free data - Free
downloads
Mostly European statistics. Some current indicators are free, but most info is only available for purchase. Contact Documents staff for help and alternative sources.
Lexis Nexis Statistical
Index to statistics gathered by governments, some links
to data
WHOSIS
World Health Organization Statistical Information System.
Huge variety of health and disease statistics worldwide, including life expectancy,
mortality, HIV/AIDS
United Nations Regional Economic Commissions
- Asia and the Pacific (statistics)
- Europe (statistics)
- Latin America and the Caribbean
I. Major Resources | II. Data by Topic | III. Article Databases
II. Data on Countries by TOPIC
Population (Demographics, Fertility, Life expectancy)
- Demographic, Social, and Housing Statistics
- Capital cities (and cities greater than 100,000)
- Population and Reproductive Health
- State of the World’s Population
- Summary Demographic Data by country
- World Population Prospects Databse
Agriculture
Children
- UNICEF Statistics
Economic and social data with reference to children’s well-being by country. - State of the World’s Children 2003
Crime / Criminal Justice
- Global Illicit Drug Trends
- International Crime Victim Survey
- Interpol Crime Statistics
- UN Surveys of Crime Trends
- World Drug Report
Development
- World Development Indicators
(2002)
- Sample Tables 2002
- Sample Tables (2001)
- By Topic
Economy / International Trade
- Handbook of International Economic Statistics (tables)
- IMF Country Reports (by Title)
- World Trade Statistics
Education
Elderly
- Population
Aging 1999
Tables and graphs.
Elections/Voting
- IPU’s Parline
Database
Includes latest election results by country. - Voter Turnout
Employment
- Laborsta on the Web
Data about employment, unemployment, hours worked, wages.
Energy
Environment
Gender & Family
- Population and Reproductive Health
- WomenWatch (UN portal to info and stats about women)
- World Abortion Polices (and rates)
- World Contraceptive Use (Tables)
- World’s Women 2000
Health
- Basic Health Indicators
- Report on the Global HIV/AIDS Epidemic 2002
- HIV/AIDs by Country
- HIVAIDS by Region
- UNICEF statistical data (by country)
- WHOSIS (World Health Organization Statistical Information System)
Human Resource Development
Labor – see Employment
Recreation- see Tourism
Recycling- see Waste Management
Refugees / Migration
- Global Refugee Trends
- International Migration from Countries with Economies in Transition
- International Migration Report 2002
- Data by region, country, special group or overview
- Statistics from the High Commissioner for Refugees
- UNHCR Statistical Yearbook
- Country Specific
Info
Choose country from the menu in the right column.
Science & Technology
- UNESCO
Institute of Statistics
Internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
Social
- Social Indicators
(UNSD)
Click on selection inside of red box on right side of page.
Tourism
- World Tourism Organization
Trade- see Economy
Transportation
Utilities – Energy
Waste Management
Women – see Gender
I. Major Resources | II. Data by Topic | III. Article Databases
III. Article Databases
FULL TEXT ONLINE
- JSTOR
Full text of core research journals; (sociology, population studies). - Policy File
Index to public policy research and links to the full text reports - CIAO - Columbia International Affairs
Online
Theory & research on international affairs, original case studies
Search: European Union (subject) population in box = 347
Look at “Journal of International Affairs” links population and security
SOME FULL TEXT
Provides either the full text of the article or a journal citation.- ArticleFirst
Multidisciplinary index of articles from the contents pages of 12,000+ journals. - Social
Sciences Abstracts
Covers some 350 core journals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. - PAIS
Materials on public affairs worldwide. - Electronic
Collections Online
“ Collection of scholarly journals”
INDEXES
Helps researcher find articles on a topic.
- Social
Service Abstracts
(Select "Alphabetical List" then "Social Services Abstracts")
“ Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, and social policy” - Sociological
Abstracts
(Select "Alphabetical List" then "Sociological Abstracts)
“ Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.” - Alternative
Press Index
“ Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals”
University of Florida | University of Florida Libraries | Documents Department | Library Catalog | Search/Browse
Copyright © 1999-2003 University of Florida George
A. Smathers Libraries.
P. O. Box 117001 Gainesville, FL 32611-7001
All Rights Reserved.
Acceptable Use, Copyright,
and Disclaimer Statement
Send comments and/or questions about this site to:
Mary Gay Anderson, marygay@mail.uflib.ufl.edu
Tom Minton, thomint@mail.uflib.ufl.edu
Last Updated
July 6, 2006