Skip to Search

 
diagonal spacer

Subject Guides

Stanford University

    http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/medieval/medieval.html
         

Probably the best and most comprehensive medieval subject guide on the Internet.

 

 

Yale University

    http://www.library.yale.edu/rsc/history/medgde/medgde.htm
            

This subject guide seeks to guide students, faculty, and patrons to medieval studies resources available in Yale's collection. Yale's site offers a list of medieval resources available according to their format. Some very useful features include a listing of medieval gateways on the Internet, a short list of specialized Websites, and the names of some Online journals. Next, the site contains a list of indexes and abstracts (both paper and electronic) for finding journal articles in medieval studies. Scholars and graduate students will also appreciate a listing of print & electronic resources for obtaining book reviews. For those seeking more information about the field of medieval studies, there are the following resources: associations & organizations, discussion lists, and a short list of university programs. Finally, and perhaps of a more limited value, there are short lists of pertinent microfilms and CD-ROMS.

Probably the best feature of Yale's site is the extensive bibliography of written sources. The bibliographies main emphasis is on history resources (i.e. religious, intellectual, social, political) and reference works (atlases, bibliographies, biographies, chronologies, guides, handbooks, dictionaries, & encyclopedias). These resources are thoroughly annotated and also contain call numbers. This bibliography is a great resource tool that is geared more towards graduate students and faculty.

 

 

University of North Carolina

    http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/hum/medieval.html

 

 

Columbia University

        Ancient & Medieval Reading Room (Butler Library)

 

A Basic Bibliography in Medieval History (Including reference works and primary resources)

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/manc/biblio.html

 

Internet Resources for Medievalists

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/manc/manc.medieval.html

 

A very nice list of Online Journals

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/manc/ejournals.html

 

See also this address for a very short list of reference sources for medieval Europe:

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/butlref/med.html

 

 

Duke

    http://www.lib.duke.edu/reference/subjects/medieval/

 

University of Florida Home Page