Science Databases
The databases listed on this page are mainly science related.
For a full list of library databases, please see the Smathers Libraries'
Databases A-Z page.
Top Science Databases
- Web of Science
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
- Biosis
- CAB Abstracts
- Compendex and Engineering Index
- IEEE Electronic Library
- SciFinder - Chemical Abstracts
- GeoRef
- ACM Digital library
For help with search techniques:
Library Database Searchers' Cheat Sheet
Databases A-Z
Back to Top
- ABI/INFORM
- Search All 4 ABI/INFORM Databases Together (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry)
- Search ABI/INFORM Global ONLY (1971 to date)
- Search ABI/INFORM Archive ONLY (1918-1986)
- Search ABI/INFORM Dateline ONLY
- Search ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry ONLY
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
- ACM Digital Library
- Aerospace & High Technology Database (CSA)
- Ageline
- Agricola
- Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) (CSA)
- Aluminum Industry Abstracts (CSA)
- Animal Behavior Abstracts (CSA)
- Annual Reviews
- Ant Bibliography (See FORMIS)
- ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (CSA)
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (See ASFA)
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text (WilsonWeb)
- arXiv.org e-Print Archive
- ASAE Technical Library
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (All 5 sections)
- ASM Handbooks Online
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) (CSA)
- Biochemistry Abstracts 1 (Biological Membranes) (CSA)
- Biochemistry Abstracts 3 (Amino Acids, Peptides & Proteins) (CSA)
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus(WilsonWeb)
- Biological Sciences (CSA)
- Biology Digest (CSA)
- BioOne
- BIOSIS Previews (Biological Abstracts + Biological Abstracts/RRM) (Web of Knowledge)
- Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts (CSA)
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts (CSA)
- Birds of North America Online
- Books24x7
- CAB Abstracts (Web of Knowledge)
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) (60+ Databases)
- All Natural Sciences: Quick Search | Advanced Search
- All Technology: Quick Search | Advanced Search
- Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramic Abstracts (CSA)
- Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)
- ChemIDplus
- Chemistry Preprint Server
- CiteSeerX
- Compendex and Engineering Index(Engineering Village)
- Composites Industry Abstracts (CSA)
- Computer Database (Gale)
- Computer & Information Systems Abstracts (CSA)
- Computing Research Repository
- Computing Reviews
- Copper Data Center Database (CSA)
- Corrosion Abstracts (CSA)
- Crossfire - Including BEILSTEIN and GMELIN
- NOT ACCESSIBLE ON THE WEB - Access Instructions
- Civil Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
- Neurosciences Abstracts (CSA)
- DGRweb(ACS Directory of Graduate Research)
- Dissertations & Theses
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) -- Full Dissertation Abstracts database.
- Dissertations @ University of Florida (ProQuest)
- Dissertations and Theses (WorldCat) (FirstSearch)
- UF Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs)
- UF Guide to Finding Dissertations & Theses
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
- Ecology Abstracts (CSA)
- EconLit (EBSCO)
- Ei Compendex (See Compendex...)
- Electronics & Communications Abstracts (CSA)
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Endangered Species & Wetlands Report
- Energy Citations Database (ECD)
- Energy - Office of Scientific & Technical Information (DOE)
- Engineered Materials Abstracts (CSA)
- Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics (CSA)
- Engineering Index (See Compendex...)
- Entomology Abstracts (CSA)
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (CSA)
- E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers
- ERIC
- Everglades Digital Library
- Everglades Online (PALMM)
- Extension Digital Information Source (EDIS )
- FAOstat
- Fish & Fisheries Worldwide (NISC)
- Florida Environments Online (FEOL) (PALMM)
- FORMIS (Ant Bibliography) (WebLUIS)
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) (OVID)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)Science Collection
- General Science Full Text (WilsonWeb)
- GEOBASE(FirstSearch)
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
- GeoRef (CSA)
- Search Georef and Georef in Process Together (CSA)
- GeoRef Only (CSA)
- GeoRef In Process Only (CSA)
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)
- Herbarium Collections Catalog (PALMM)
- High Technology Research Database with Aerospace (CSA)
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (FirstSearch Eureka)
- IEEE Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore)
- Index to Organism Names
- Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) (CSA)
- INSPEC Archive 1896-1969 (Engineering Village)
- Intute: Science, Engineering, & Technology
- ISI HighlyCited.com (Free -- Linked from "Additional Resources in Web of Knowledge)
- JCR Web (Journal Citation Reports) (Web of Knowledge)
- Materials Business File (CSA)
- Materials Research Database with METADEX (CSA)
- MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews on the Web)
- Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
- Mechanical Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
- METADEX(CSA)
- MicroPatent Materials Patents (CSA)
- MIT Cognet
- NASA Applied Sciences Directorate Stennis Space Center
- NASA Astrophysics Data System
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
- National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
- NISC Biblioline
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
- NTIS (CSA)
- PALMM -- Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials
- PALMM E-Journals
- Patent & Trademark Depository Library Program (US Patent Office)
- Patent Database (Free Patents Online)
- Patent Database (US Patent Office)
- Patents - International (British Library)
- Plant Management Network (PMN)
- Plant Science (CSA)
- Pollution Abstracts (CSA)
- PrimateLit
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
- Protein (National Library of Medicine)
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
- PubChem
- PubMed (with UF holdings) (National Library of Medicine)
- Reclaiming the Everglades (RTE) (PALMM)
- Referex Engineering - Materials & Mechanical Collection (Engineering Village)
- RefWorks
- Log in to RefWorks
- What is RefWorks? -- See UF Libraries' Information about RefWorks
- Risk Abstracts (CSA)
- Safety Science & Risk Abstracts (CSA)
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida (PALMM)
- Science Citation Index (In Web of Science)
- ScienceDirect
- Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
- Science's Next Wave
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
- NOT ACCESSIBLE ON THE WEB -- UF Access Instructions
- SCIRUS
- Scitation
- Sea Turtle Bibliography
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
- Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts (CSA)
- Southwest Florida Environmental Documents Collection (SWFEDC)
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- Sustainability Science Abstracts (CSA)
- Toxicology Abstracts (CSA)
- TOXLINE (CSA)
- TOXNET
- Trademark General Information & Database (US Patent Office)
- Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS)
- Type Specimens in the University of Florida Herbarium (PALMM)
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory (ulrichsweb.com)
- Water Resources Abstracts (CSA)
- Web of Science (WOS) (Web of Knowledge)
- WELDASEARCH (CSA)
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (NISC)
- WorldCat -- The OCLC Online Union Catalog
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (FirstSearch)
- Zoological Record (Web of Knowledge)
