Skip to Search



The John D. MacDonald Collection : Contents List Continued

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.


Contents List

Personal Papers


Series 1A - Personal Correspondence

Contains JDM's correspondence with friends and family members, as well as some professional contacts who shared a personal relationship with the MacDonalds. Correspondents are filed alphabetically by last name (if available - first name or initial if not). When searching for a particular correspondent, it is recommended to search under both first and last names (including variations on nicknames), as many letters are not formally signed and are, therefore, difficult to identify. Correspondents who are particularly important or with whom there is a large amount of material are filed in their own individual files.


Box
1 Wartime Correspondence. 1942-1943
2 Wartime Correspondence. 1943-1944
3 Wartime Correspondence. 1944
4 Wartime Correspondence. 1944-1945
5 A (Incoming Only). 1958-1982
5 B (Incoming Only). 1958-1982
5 C (Incoming Only). 1958-1982
5 D (Incoming Only). 1958-1983
5 E (Incoming Only). 1958-1984
5 F (Incoming Only). 1950-1983
5 G (Incoming Only). 1965-1986
5 H (Incoming Only). 1964-1985
5 I-J (Incoming Only). 1964-1983
5 K (Incoming Only). 1963-1982
5 L (Incoming Only). 1966-1984
5 M (Incoming Only). 1961-1986
5 N (Incoming Only). 1964-1982
5 O (Incoming Only). 1959-1983
5 P (Incoming Only). 1960-1984
5 R (Incoming Only). 1962-1982
5 S (Incoming Only). 1961-1987
5 T (Incoming Only). 1964-1986
5 U-V (Incoming Only). 1955-1981
5 W-Z (Incoming Only). 1959-1987
6 A - General (includes replies and outgoing letters from JDM). 1948-1983
6 B - General. 1948-1983
6 C - General. 1948-1983
6 D - General. 1959-1984
6 E - General. 1949-1973
6 F - General. 1958-1983
6 G - General. 1958-1983
6 H - General. 1960-1985
6 I-J - General. 1985-1981
6 K - General. 1951-1977
6 L - General. 1960-1983
6 M - General. 1958-1985
6 N - General. 1961-1982
6 O - General. 1965-1975
6 P - General. 1960-1983
6 R - General. 1957-1985
6 S - General. 1959-1984
7 T - General. 1958-1982
7 V - General. 1949-1976
7 W-Z - General. 1945-1985
7 Unknown. 1939-1973
7 Not to/from JDM. 1936-1986
7 Ballantine, Bill. 1966-1978
7 Belts, Edward. 1977-1983
7 Benny, Jack. 1960
7 Brennan, Summer. 1976-1986
7 Browne, Dik. 1983-1988
7 Burger, Knox. 1986-1988
7 Caldwell, Erskine and Virginia. 1965-1983
7 Clear, Val. 1958
7 Collins, LeRoy. 1960-1986
7 Daggett, Tony and Forrest. 1977-1987
7 Dickinson, Thomas. 1956-1984
7 Elmendorf, John and Mary. 1967-1983
7 Elvgren, Gil. 1960
7 Hamilton, Donald (Alias Matt Helm). 1986
7 Harrison, Jim. Not dated
7 Hayes, Joseph. 1986
7 Henemen, Harlow J.. 1965-1983
7 Humphrey, Hubert H. (concerning Jack Paar). 1961
7 Keasler, John. 1960
7 Kennedy, Ted. Not dated
7 Livingstone, Dick and Jane. 1970-1980s
7 Lord, Jack. 1966-1986
7 MacDonald, Eugene. 1940-1941
8 MacDonald, Marguerite. 1962-1975
8 MacDonald, Maynard (and children). 1980s
8 Dorothy MacDonald (Dordo) to JDM. 1937-1981
8 JDM to Dorothy MacDonald (Dordo). 1937-1981
8 Marlow, Stephen. 1986
8 McNair, John Van and Scotty. 1952-1982
8 Mentzerstein, Annie and Peter. 1960-1980
8 Miller, Nelson D.. 1929-1936
8 Neville, Krisman O. - on racial issues raised in an unnamed McGee novel. 1968
8 Newhart, Bob. 1961
8 Parr, Jack. 1960
8 Petersen, M.Q. "Jack". 1973-1985
8 Prentiss, Rita. 1937
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1937-1939
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1948-1949
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1951-1959
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1961-1969
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1970-1979
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1980-1986
8 Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. Not dated
9 Rowan, Adriana. 1966-1975
9 Rowan, Adriana. 1976-1980
9 Rowan, Adriana. 1981-1988
9 Rowan, Adriana. Not dated
9 Scandling, William F. 1981-1983
9 Schlesinger, Henry - Re: Cuban Refugee Situation. 1961-1962
9 Schulz, Charles M.. 1975
9 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1977-1978
9 Smith, Ward. 1967-1985
9 Solomon, Syd. 1979-1981
9 Steinmetz, Joseph. 1962-1983
9 Various Correspondence (formerly restricted). 1943-1985
9 Concerning "La Munequita" (Personal Boat) #1 of 2. 1965-1967
9 Concerning "La Munequita" (Personal Boat) #2 of 2. 1967-1970
10 Concerning Computer Issues. 1982-1985
10 Concerning Netsuke Art Collection. 1984-1985
10 Concerning 50th Class Reunion (which JDM did not attend). 1982
10 Concerning Trip to China. 1982-1984
10 "The Game" - Investing Competition. 1981-1985
10 Postal Chess ("A short-lived venture into postal chess." - JDM). 1973
10 Stamp Collecting. 1972-1979
10 With friends from World Cruise trip. 1983-1986
10 Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B, C, D, E). 1968
10 Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B). 1969
10 Original Rowan Correspondence (A). 1970
10 Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B). 1971
10 Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B). 1972
11 Original Rowan Correspondence (B). 1973
11 Original Rowan Correspondence. 1974
11 Rowan Typescript. 1967
11 Rowan Typescript. 1968
11 Rowan Typescript. 1969
11 Rowan Typescript. 1970
11 Rowan Typescript. 1971
11 Rowan Typescript. 1972
11 Rowan Typescript. 1973
11 Rowan Typescript. 1974
11 Rowan Typescript - Deleted Pages from Final Revision. Not dated
11 Typescript and Correspondence concerning "A Friendship". 1967-1974
11 Rowan and MacDonald (articles and newspaper clippings). 1986-1989
11 "When You and I Were Young, McGee": Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald - Manuscript #1. 1967-1974
12 "A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald" - Manuscript #2. 1967-1974

Series 1B - Family and Personal Papers

Contains correspondence and biographical information about JDM's family members and military service, as well as material pertaining to personal property (homes, boats, etc.). There is also a large section of medical correspondence, records, obituaries, and condolence letters. Calendars, address books, and other incidentals also are included.


Box
12 Estate of S. Roy Prentiss. 1929; 1944
12 Poetry of S. Roy Prentiss. 1919
12 Correspondence - Rita Prentiss. 1929; 1934
12 Correspondence - John W. Brayton to E. Harold Prentiss. 1926-1930
12 Eugene and Marguerite MacDonald - Correspondence, Records, Clippings. 1961-1985
12 Family Years Outline and History. After 1945
12 Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 1-3 ("A window into the world of Horatio Alger" - JDM). Not dated
12 Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 4-6. Not dated
12 Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 7-8. Not dated
12 Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 9-end. Not dated
12 Eugene A. MacDonald - Proclamation of Appreciation from Savage Arms Corp.. 1946
12 JDM's birth announcement, cradle registry. 1916
12 Early School Papers. 1930-1935
12 Delta Tau Delta Handbook. Not dated
12 College Transcripts - Syracuse, Harvard. 1936-1939
13 Early Material " The Academician" and "Utica Free Academy Yearbook". 1933-1934
13 Diary of European Trip. 1934
13 JDM and DPM Wedding Invitation. 1938
13 Army Records, Correspondence, etc.. 1942-1953
13 Maynard (John P.) MacDonald - School Items, Wedding Announcement, etc.. Not dated
13 Vital Statistics, Passports, Immunization Records, etc.. 1967-1972
13 Cruise Certificates, Itineraries. 1973-1985
13 Travel Receipts, Records, etc.. 1977
13 Travel Brochures and Corresp.. 1985-1987
13 Cruise Documents and Itineraries. 1985-1987
14 Sagafjord Cruise - Brochures, Local Newspapers, Newsletter, etc.. 1986
14 Personal Business - JDM/DPM #1 of 2. 1964-1988
14 Personal Business - JDM/DPM #2 of 2. 1964-1988
14 Snizms - Masters #1-25 ("The Jungian approach to Snizmism" - JDM). 1966
14 Snizms - Masters #26-50. 1966
14 Snizms - Masters. 1968
14 Snizms - Masters. 1969
14 Snizms - Masters. 1970
14 Snizms - Special Supplement. Not dated
14 Daily Agendas and To-Do Lists. 1968-1983
14 Piseco - Correspondence and Receipts #1 of 3. 1961-1983
15 Piseco - Correspondence and Receipts #2 of 3. 1972-1978
15 Piseco - Correspondence and Receipts #3 of 3. 1983-1986
15 Piseco - Property Maps, Adirondack Park Maps, and Adirondack Park Development Plan. Not dated
15 Inventory of Valuables for Insurance Records. Not dated
15 Misc. Newspaper Clippings and Articles by/concerning family members. 1955-1982
15 Myakka House. 1964-1980
15 Samuel Prentiss - Sale of Myakka Property. 1975
15 House Plans and Bills, "Requirements of New House" - Ocean Place. Not dated
15 House Plans - Ocean Place. Not dated
15 The "Penthouse" Condo and Lawsuit - Correspondence, articles, etc. ("Complete file on legal action taken which prevented the construction of a condominium to be called The Penthouse, 8 or 9 stories high, next door to our Ocean Place home." - JDM). 1973-1977
15 JDM's Dream Journal. Not dated
15 Membership Cards. Not dated
15 Business Cards. Not dated
15 Patient IDs, Library Card (Travis McGee), Account IDs, Press ID, UF Parking Decals. Not dated, 1984-1986
15 Misc. Medical Records. 1938-1966
15 Medical Records - Explanation of Medical Benefits. 1981-1983
16 Medical Records, Insurance, etc. #1 of 2. 1972-1978
16 Medical Records, Insurance, etc. #2 of 2. 1951-1967
16 Coronary Research and Correspondence ("The letters to and from Dr. Needles are interesting." - JDM). 1971-1976
16 Mayo Clinic. 1976
16 Medical - Records, Correspondence, etc. #1of 2. 1986
16 Medical - Records, Correspondence, etc. #2of 2. 1976-1986
16 Medicare Files, New York Life Insurance Corp.. 1985-1986
16 Medical Corresp. - Cardiology. 1981-1986
16 Medical - Booklets and Pamphlets. 1986
16 Medical Records - Autopsy Report, Death Certificate, Estate. 1986-1989
16 JDM - Obituaries #1 of 2. 1986-1987
16 JDM - Obituaries #2 of 2. 1986-1987
17 Memorials, Remembrances, etc. of JDM's death. 1987
17 Condolence Letters - Fans and Strangers. 1986-1987
17 Condolence Letters - Friends and Acquaintances #1 of 2. 1986
17 Condolence Letters - Friends and Acquaintances #2 of 2. 1986
17 Condolence Letters - Close Friends. 1986-1987
17 Condolence Letters (Misc.). 1986-1987
17 JDM and DPM Memorial Service Guest Book and Program. 1989
17 Scrapbook of correspondence recommending JDM for membership in the Florida Artist's Hall of Fame. 1989-1991
17 FL House of Representatives - Resolution 1529. 1988
18 Christmas Lists (Blue Index Notebook). 1974-1976
18 Overseas Packages (Blue Index Notebook). 1974-1979
18 Guestbook to unknown event. 1987, Feb 21
18 Mini Address Book, black. Not dated
18 Address Books (3). Not dated
18 Hanging Calendar. 1969
18 Monet Engagement Calendar. 1984
18 Sierra Club Engagement Calendar. 1975, 1979
18 Metropolitan Museum of Art Calendars. 1973, 1977-1978
18 Cat Calendars. 1978-1983
18 Loose Calendar Sheets. 1966

Series 1C - Dorothy Prentiss MacDonald

Contains Dorothy's personal correspondence, materials relating to her paintings, and a number of notebooks and quote collections.


Box
19 Early Personal Correspondence. 1919-1936
19 Personal Correspondence - General #1 of 2. 1966-1988
19 Personal Correspondence - General #2 of 2. 1948-1983
19 Personal Correspondence - Incoming Only. 1936-1988
19 Letter from JDM promising a Christmas Trip. 1967
19 Correspondence after/relating to JDM's death. 1986-1987
19 Collins, LeRoy (Correspondence). 1965-1969
19 Elvir, Maria Luz (Correspondence). 1969-1977
19 Hirschberg, Edgar (Correspondence). 1987
19 Prentiss, Rita (Correspondence). 1937-1938
19 Business Correspondence (with Index). 1971-1989
19 Medical Bills. 1989
20 Art - Misc. clippings, correspondence, quotes, etc. #1 of 2. 1958-1965
20 Art - Misc. clippings, correspondence, quotes, etc. #2 of 2. 1963-1965
20 Art Shows and Exhibitions (DPM and others). 1960-1961
20 Petticoat Painters and other art.
20 Steno Pad with Spanish practice and notes. Not dated
20 Address Books (2). Not dated
20 Address Books (2). Not dated
20 Appointment book with notes from Syd's painting class. Not dated
20 Diplomas - Syracuse University - BA, Fine Arts - MS, Education. 1931, 1935
20 Scrapbook of quotes. Not dated
20 Sketchbooks, notepads (3). Not dated
20 Sketchbooks, notepads (3). Not dated

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.





For further information, please contact: Flo Turcotte, Literary Manuscripts Archivist.

University of Florida Home Page