Skip to Search



The John D. MacDonald Collection : Contents List Continued

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.




Professional Papers


Series 2A - Professional Correspondence

Contains correspondence with agents, publishers, editors, members of the media, and others. The correspondence primarily pertains to writing as a craft and profession. The general correspondence files also may include JDM's advice to and/or discussions with other fledgling writers. General files are organized chronologically, while files that have been grouped by correspondent or topic are organized alphabetically. Many correspondents appear in multiple locations.


Box
20 General Correspondence ("Rights and permissions, requests for advice, requests to visit, etc. Fascinating in places merely because of the willingness of some people to use up your life as if it were their own." - JDM). Not dated
20 General Correspondence. 1949-1964
20 General Correspondence. 1956-1966
20 General Correspondence. 1958-1960
21 General Correspondence. 1960-1962
21 General Correspondence. 1963-1964
21 General Correspondence. 1965
21 General Correspondence. 1960-1965
21 General Correspondence. 1966
21 General Correspondence. 1967
21 General Correspondence. 1968-1969
21 General Correspondence. 1969
21 General Correspondence. 1970
21 General Correspondence. 1971
21 General Correspondence. 1972
21 General Correspondence. 1973
21 General Correspondence. 1974
21 General Correspondence. 1975
21 General Correspondence. 1976
22 General Correspondence. 1977
22 General Correspondence. 1978
22 General Correspondence. 1978-1979
22 General Correspondence. 1978-1979
22 General Correspondence. 1979
22 General Correspondence. 1980
22 General Correspondence. 1981
22 General Correspondence. 1982
22 General Correspondence. 1983
22 General Correspondence. 1984
22 General Correspondence. 1985
22 General Correspondence. 1986
22 General Correspondence. 1986
23 Requests for Interviews, Commentaries. 1983-1984
23 Requests for Interviews, Commentaries. 1985-1986
23 Invitations to appear. 1983-1984
23 Alfred A. Knopf. 1985-1986
23 Bahia Mar - Correspondence with Irv Deibert ("This was a brash attempt to tie the McGee into the actual Bahia Mar setup. Curiously enough, the man then with the PR firm handling Bahia Mar is now the manager of Bahia Mar - Irv Deibert." - JDM). 1964-1966
23 Ballantine Books. 1982
23 Ballantine Books. 1983
23 Bibliographic Materials #1 of 2. 1953-1967
23 Bibliographic Materials #2 of 2. 1953-1967
23 Bibliophile Correspondence - Len Moffat. 1966-1970
23 British Publishers. 1978-1981
23 "The Bullshit File" - Articles by others than JDM (A file of "bullshit" correspondence, articles typescripts, and other musings by JDM that he and A.L. Hart had thought to publish into a book.). 1977-1985
23 "The Bullshit File" - Articles, Letters to Editors, by JDM. 1947-1986
23 "The Bullshit File" - General Correspondence. 1968-1985
23 "The Bullshit File" - Hart, A.L. Correspondence. 1964-1970
24 "The Bullshit File" - T. Carrington Burns (pseudonym) Correspondence, articles, typescripts. 1959-1961
24 "The Bullshit File" - Comments on Political Climate. 1968
24 "The Bullshit File" - Commencement speech for Ringling School of Art. "The Artist and the Status Symbol". 1965
24 "The Bullshit File" - "India Trip" Typescript. Not dated
24 "The Bullshit File" - Introduction to Slam the Big Door. 1986
24 "The Bullshit File" - JDM's spoof on Mack Thomas's Gumbo. 1965
24 "The Bullshit File" - "Madder Than Hell" article. 1985
24 "The Bullshit File" - Misc. Poetry. 1968
24 "The Bullshit File" - My Fair Lady spoof. Not dated
24 "The Bullshit File" - On Style. 1968
24 "The Bullshit File" - Personal Journal Entries. 1951, 1960, 1980
24 "The Bullshit File" - "Porcelain Poison". Not dated
24 "The Bullshit File" - Short Burlesque Vignettes. 1966-1968
24 "The Bullshit File" - Short piece entitled "I, the Spillane" and other similar titles. 1951
24 "The Bullshit File" - "Tigers on a Raft" Typescript. Not dated
24 "The Bullshit File" - Writings for Windhorn. 1962-1963
24 "The Bullshit File" - "Writing is my Trade...". 1973
24 "The Bullshit File" - "You and Your Leisure". Not dated
24 "The Bullshit File" - "The Yucatan". 1986
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1959-1961
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1962-1964
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1965
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1966
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). Not dated
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1967
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1968
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1970-1974
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1974-1980
24 Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1980-1986
24 Chicago Trip (Correspondence) (Re: itinerary, dinner, JDM's biographical profile). 1969
24 Manuscript Vouchers. 1946-1948
25 Copyright Renewals. 1969-1976
25 Copyrights - Correspondence. 1965-1979
25 Copyrights - LC Forms and Correspondence. 1979-1981
25 Daigh, Ralph - Correspondence. 1975
25 Diskant, George - Correspondence. 1983
25 Diskant, George - Correspondence. 1984
25 Diskant, George - Correspondence. 1985-1986
25 Dorn, Al - Correspondence. 1954-1958
25 Early Publications. 1945-1946
25 Early Publications. 1947-1948
25 Doubleday - Correspondence (Re: sales conference in Florida, comments of the House Guests, editorial suggestions, list of novels, royalties, promotion, The Last One Left, royalties, publication of Travis McGee stories, comments on Deadly Drug). 1964-1967
25 Doubleday - Correspondence (Re: royalties on Last One Left, Royce Grimm affair, more royalties, No Deadly Drug out of print at the end of Jan. 1970). 1968-1973
25 Doubleday - Correspondence. 1974-1975
25 Fawcett. 1952-1959
25 Fawcett. 1960
25 Fawcett. 1961-1964
25 Fawcett. 1965
25 Fawcett. 1966-1967
25 Fawcett. 1968
26 Fawcett. 1969
26 Fawcett #1 of 2 (Re: Burger commenting on Max Wilkinson Publications, Burger becoming MacDonald's literary agent, Dress Her In Indigo, editorial comments by Knox). 1969-1970
26 Fawcett #2 of 2. 1969-1970
26 Fawcett. 1971
26 Fawcett. 1971-1972
26 Fawcett (Re: reprints: Fearful Yellow Eye; other revivals: A man of Affairs; Soft Touch, Death Trap. Advance copies of Cancel All Our vows, reprints of All These Condemned, the Deceivers, the Beach Girls, One Monday We Killed The All.). 1972
26 Fawcett (Re: release of Scarlet Ruse, royalties statements, Resume of The End of the Night, The Neon Jungle, The Drowner, covers of The Last One Left; buying the House Guests; covers of The Only Girl on the Game and Scarlet Ruse; Royalties; photograph of sales meeting, covers for Flash of Green; promotion, Turquoise Lament.). 1973
26 Fawcett (Re: reprint of Pale Gray for Guilt, The House guest, The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrappers, End of the Night, Death Trap, The Dreadful Lemon Sky, A Key to Suite, Murder for the Bride, and others. Color covers for these books; Promotion. 25 years with JDM; cocktail party honoring JDM; Royalties; Projection of earnings; Reprint in paperback of Turquoise Lament). 1974
26 Fawcett (Re: Covers for Girl in Plain Brown Wrappers, The Dreadful Lemon Sky, End of the Night. Gala dinner honoring Fawcett promotion). 1975
26 Fawcett (Re: Publication of On the Run, new cover and format for Cry Hard Cry Fast, list of re-issues and revivals from Jan to Sept. 1976, covers for A Bullet for Cinderella, Where is Janice Gentry? Murder for the Bride, others.). 1976
26 Fawcett/CBS - Max Wilkinson. 1975-1979
27 Fawcett - Correspondence. 1980-1982
27 Fawcett - Correspondence. 1984-1986
27 Finan, William B. (concordance and correspondence). 1986
27 Foreign Publishers. 1958-1966
27 Foreign Publishers. 1967
27 Foreign Publishers. 1968
27 Foreign Publishers (Re: Garzanti has published A Deadly Shade of Gold; Gallemard planning to publish MacDonald in their series, Poche Noire; translation of The Last One Left; companion Book Club has bought this title; Information about this book; Transcribing One Fearful Yellow Eye into Braille; Mine Bayou has offered MacDonald's titles to Gallimard; Publishing in London, the Quick Red Fox, Hale publishing Border Town Girl; About translators; Condensed Dress Her in Indigo; sales problems; Translation to Spanish of The Only Girl in the Game; Promotion matters). 1969-1970
27 Foreign Publishers (Re: Publication in England of The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper, and Dress Her in Indigo in paperback, Good reviews of Flash of Green in England, Max Wilkinson having a wretched time, literary rights). 1971-1973
27 Foreign Publishers. 1974-1977
27 Foreign Publishers. 1982-1986
27 Fraser, Robert D. - Correspondence ("Robert D. Fraser, an attorney and cinema buff in San Francisco. In 1969 and 1970 we were discussing our staying at a hotel he then owned in Bora Bora for three weeks on the cuff while I did a treatment for a film he wished to produce and direct." - JDM). 1969-1970
27 "How to Live With a Hero" - The Writer. 1964, Sept.
27 Harper and Row. 1980-1981
27 Harper and Row #1 of 2. 1981-1982
28 Harper and Row #2 of 2. 1981-1982
28 Lippincott. 1968-1969
28 Lippincott. 1970
28 Lippincott. 1971
28 Lippincott. 1972
28 Lippincott. 1973-1974
28 Lippincott. 1975-1976
28 Lippincott. 1976-1980
28 Lippincott - "One Fearful Yellow Eye". 1977
28 Media - Newspapers and TV. 1969-1971
28 Media - Magazines. 1964-1970
28 Media - Newspapers. 1971-1976
28 Media - Newspapers. 1976-1978
28 Media - Boy's Life Magazine. 1985
28 Metzdorf, Robert. 1967-1973
29 Millar, Kenneth and Robert Gault - Correspondence. 1953-1977
29 Millar, Kenneth (death, articles). 1983
29 Moffat, Len (Re: JDM's books, bibliographic comments for the JDMB and Master List; Anthony Boucher Memorial; Mystery Convention, etc.). 1966-1967
29 Moffat, Len. 1968
29 Moffat, Len. 1969
29 Moffat, Len. 1970-1971
29 Moffat, Len. 1972-1973
29 Moffat, Len. 1974-1975
29 Moffat, Len. 1976-1978
29 MWA Anthology. 1958
29 MWA Anthology. 1959
29 Nancy Johnson, Field Enterprises - Correspondence. Not dated
29 "Other Times, Other Worlds" article - Correspondence. 1976-1978
29 Penzler, Otto - "Widow's Pique". 1978-1979
29 Peterson, Clarence. 1964-1967
29 Peterson, Clarence - Correspondence. Not dated
29 Public Media Correspondence ("A collection of letters to and from people in the newspaper business, broadcasting, magazines, etc., regarding interviews, promotional ideas, appearances, etc. Many very strange exchanges herein." - JDM). 1964-1967
29 Public Media Correspondence. 1967
29 Public Media Correspondence. 1967-1969
29 Public Media Correspondence. 1972-1974
29 Lists - Published Works, Recipients of free copies of new books. 1950-1982
29 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1946-1960
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1960-1963
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1961-1964
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1964-1967
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1965-1967
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1968-1969
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1970-1975
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1970-1977
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1974-1985
30 Publishers - General Correspondence. 1982-1985
30 Sauderberg, Professor Paul S.. 1980-1981
30 Smith, James. 1965-1966
31 Smith, James. 1966-1967
31 Smith, James. 1967-1973
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1979
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1980
31 Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1980
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1981
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1982
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1983
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1984
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1985
31 Shine, Walter and Jean. 1986
32 Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1987
32 Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1987-1988
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1952-1958
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1958
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1959
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1960
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1961
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1962
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1963
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1958-1964
32 Wilkinson, Max - Copies. 1960-1964
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1964
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1965
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1966
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1967
32 Wilkinson, Max. 1968
33 Wilkinson, Max. 1969
33 Wilkinson, Max. 1970
33 Wilkinson, Max. 1971-1972
33 Wilkinson, Max. 1973-1974
33 Wilkinson, Max. 1975-1976
33 Wilkinson, Max - Correspondence. 1961-1977
33 Wilkinson, Max - Correspondence. 1978-1981
33 Wilkinson, Max - Correspondence. 1982-1985
33 Wilkinson, Max - Contracts, Agreements, Options. 1953-1977
33 Wolf, Martin J. - Building a replica of "Miss Agnes". 1982-1983

Series 2B - Business Correspondence

Contains correspondence of a business nature unrelated to the profession of writing, such as the sale of vehicles or property, the purchase of office equipment, personal investments and finances, etc.


Box
33 Misc. Business Contracts and Receipts. 1939
33 General Business Correspondence. 1957-1958
33 General Business Correspondence. 1959
33 General Business Correspondence. 1960
33 General Business Correspondence. 1961
33 General Business Correspondence. 1962
33 General Business Correspondence. 1963
33 General Business Correspondence. 1964
33 General Business Correspondence. 1965
34 General Business Correspondence. 1966
34 General Business Correspondence. 1967
34 General Business Correspondence - (non-writing and Misc.). 1962-1968
34 General Business Correspondence. 1968
34 General Business Correspondence. 1969
34 General Business Correspondence - (non-writing and Misc.). 1969
34 General Business Correspondence. 1970-1973
34 General Business Correspondence. 1973-1979
34 General Business Correspondence. 1980-1981
34 General Business Correspondence. 1982-1984
34 General Business Correspondence. 1985-1987
34 General Business Correspondence (minor squabbles). 1969-1981
35 General Business Correspondence (minor squabbles). 1982-1984
35 Gaylor, William - Venice Nokomis Bank and Trust Company - Correspondence #1 of 2. 1969-1970
35 Gaylor, William - Venice Nokomis Bank and Trust Company - Correspondence #2 of 2. 1971-1973
35 Slick Rock Mountain - Correspondence. 1958-1968

Series 2C - Academic Materials

Contains materials relating to JDM's involvement with various academic institutions such as New College, Ringling School of Art, and the University of Florida. The materials are arranged alphabetically by institution and subject heading.


Box
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1951-1964
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1965-1966
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1967
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1968
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1969-1972
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1973
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1974
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1975-1976
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1977
35 General Academic Correspondence. 1978
36 New College - Associates. 1975-1979
36 New College - Auction. 1975
36 New College - "The Beginning". 1961-1968
36 New College - Clippings. 1964-1976
36 New College - College Publications (Bulletins and Handbooks). 1970-1973
36 New College - College Publications (Campus Calendar). 1969-1976
36 New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1966
36 New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1967
36 New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1968
36 New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1977
36 New College - College Publications (The East Campus Other). 1967
36 New College - College Publications (Mascalito). 1973
36 New College - College Publications (New College). 1971-1976
36 New College - College Publications (New College Phoenix). 1969-1973
36 New College - College Publications (New Gonzo Review). 1976
36 New College - College Publications (New's Letter). 1976
36 New College - College Publications (This Week at NC). 1971-1975
36 New College - Commencement. 1969-1974
36 New College - Environmental Studies Program. 1971-1972
36 New College - Environmental Studies Program. 1972-1973
37 New College - Environmental Studies Program. 1973-1974
37 New College - Finances. 1974-1976
37 New College - Fine Arts (correspondence). 1965-1969
37 New College - Gala Celebration. 1975
37 New College - Geckle, Bill (correspondence). 1970
37 New College - General Correspondence. 1968-1970
37 New College - General Correspondence. 1970
37 New College - General Correspondence. 1971
37 New College - General Correspondence. 1972-1976
37 New College - General Correspondence. 1977-1978
37 New College - Handbooks. 1969-1973
37 New College - Hecht, Mr. and Mrs. George - Correspondence. Not dated
37 New College - Incorporation to South Florida University. 1974-1975
37 New College - Incorporation to South Florida University - clippings. 1974-1975
38 New College - Institutional Self Study. 1970
38 New College - Liugle, Kendall. 1971-1972
38 New College - Memos, Special Announcements. 1972
38 New College - Memos, Special Announcements. 1973-1974
38 New College - MacDonald's Creative Writing Seminar. 1973
38 New College - Merge with USF. 1975
38 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1968
38 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1969 Jan - June
38 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1969 July - Dec
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1970 Jan - June
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1970 July - Dec
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1971 Jan - June
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1971 July - Dec
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #1 of 4. 1972
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #2 of 4. 1972
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #3 of 4. 1972
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #4 of 4. 1972
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #1 of 4. 1973
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #2 of 4. 1973
39 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #3 of 4. 1973
40 New College - Minutes and Special Reports #4 of 4. 1973
40 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1974
40 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1975
40 New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1976-1977
40 New College - Miscellaneous. 1969-1972
40 New College - Miscellaneous. 1976-1977
40 New College - Search for a President. 1974
41 New College Correspondence - Architecture Communications. 1971-1972
41 New College Correspondence - Architecture and Financial. 1972-1974
41 New College Foundation - Meetings. 1978
41 New College Foundation - Misc. Publications. 1977-1978
41 New College Foundation - Reports, Fund Appealing, etc.. 1976-1978
41 New College Foundation - Trustees news. 1977
41 New College/USF - Campus News. 1975-1976
41 New College/USF - Campus News. 1977
41 Ringling School of Art - Campus Master Plan and correspondence. 1975
41 Ringling School of Art - Chairman of the Board (MacDonald). 1977-1978
41 Ringling School of Art - Faculty and Staff Handbook. 1977-1978
41 Ringling School of Art - Finance, Architecture, etc.. 1977-1978
41 Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1974
41 Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1977
41 Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1978
41 Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1979
41 Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1980
42 Ringling School of Art - Meeting Minutes, Agendas, etc.. 1975-1977
42 Ringling School of Art - Miscellaneous. 1977
42 Ringling School of Art - "Portfolio". 1978
42 Ringling School of Art - Reports and Finances. 1974-1976
42 Ringling School of Art - Reports and Finances. 1977
42 Ringling School of Art - Reports and Finances. 1978
42 Ringling School of Art - Self Study Guidelines. 1977
42 Ringling School of Art - Student Publications (Ringling). 1979-1980
42 Syracuse University - Bulletins, programs, Correspondence. 1971-1980
42 University of Florida - Book Reviews, Clippings, etc.. 1964-1979
42 University of Florida - Clippings, Correspondence, etc.. 1990-1992
42 University of Florida - Condominium. 1977
42 University of Florida - JDM Master checklist (Bibliography of Published Writings). 1969
42 University of Florida - "Want List". 1979
42 University of Florida - "Want List". 1982
42 University of Florida - Correspondence and articles mostly relating to Condominium.. 1973-1978
42 University of Florida - Correspondence, booklets, invitations, etc.. 1977
42 University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1951-1967
43 University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1967-1980
43 University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1984-1986
43 University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1980-1987
43 University of Florida - Manuscript Acquisition Forms. 1960-1968
43 University of Florida - Packing Lists (Inventory). 1968-1979
43 University of Florida - Packing Lists (Inventory). 1980-1986
43 University of Florida - Request for donation to Howe Collection. 1980
43 University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1980
43 University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1981
43 University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1985-1983
43 University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1984-1987
43 University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1980-1990
43 Rollins College Writer's Conference. 1969-1971
44 University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1977
44 University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1978
44 University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1979-1980
44 University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1981-1982
44 University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1983-1986

Series 2D - Movies and Television

Contains correspondence, publicity and clippings of movies and television productions based on JDM works. The files are organized alphabetically by subject heading. Note that all screenplays are filed in "Articles and Publications by Other Authors - Screenplays." Also, movie posters for Darker Than Amber, Cape Fear, and Man Trap, are filed separately in the "Oversize Materials" series.


Box
44 Correspondence - Benjamin, Ben; Blodgett, Otis; Higgins, Frank. 1959-1963
44 Correspondence - Condon, Robert; Kearny, Robert. 1960-1964
44 Correspondence - Farber, Donald C.. 1974-1977
44 Correspondence - Gulf Coast Productions. 1958-1989
44 Correspondence - Lord, Jack ("This is a long, saddening, disheartening and educational account of the contact between the writer and the actor, and how these things get spoiled by the greasy maneuverings of the Industry..." - JDM). 1964-1967
44 Correspondence - Robinson, Hubbell; Wilkinson, Max; Woodruff, Frank L.; Ziegler, Evarts. 1957-1967
44 Correspondence - Zieglar, Diskant Inc.. 1975-1982
45 Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #1 of 4. 1965-1973
45 Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #2 of 4. 1965-1973
45 Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #3 of 4. 1965-1973
45 Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #4 of 4. 1965-1973
45 The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version). 1961-1962
45 The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version) - Press Releases, Showman's Manual. 1962
45 General Correspondence. 1959-1966
45 General Correspondence. 1966
45 General Correspondence. 1967
45 General Correspondence. 1968
45 General Correspondence. 1969
45 General Correspondence. 1970-1971
45 General Correspondence. 1971-1973
45 General Correspondence. 1974-1976
46 General Correspondence. 1977
46 The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version). 1961-1962
46 The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version) - Press Releases, Showman's Manual. 1962
46 Scripts - "Dallas" - "Jack's Trial - Part I," Episode #22. 1980
46 Scripts - "Dallas" - "Jack's Trial - Part II," Episode #23. 1980
46 Scripts - "Dallas" - "The Wheeler Dealer" Episode #24. 1980
46 Scripts - "Dallas" - "A House Divided" Episode #25. 1980
46 TV Movie: Travis McGee, Clippings. 1983
46 Venture Bay - Scripts, Correspondence. 1969-1970
46 Venture Bay - Scripts, Correspondence. 1970-1971
46 Venture bay - Promotion Kit. Not dated
46 Venture Bay - Material removed and sent to George Diskant. 1983

Series 2E - Contracts

Contains legal contracts, correspondence, royalty reports, and other materials related to the publishing of specific works. Materials are organized alphabetically by title.


Box
46 All These Condemned. 1953-1986
46 April Evil. 1955-1986
46 Area of Suspicion. 1952-1986
46 Audio Books. 1987-1988
46 Ballroom of the Skies. 1952-1984
46 Barrier Island. 1983-1988
47 The Beach Girls. 1958-1987
47 Border Town Girl. 1955-1986
47 The Brass Cupcake. 1950-1985
47 Bright Orange for the Shroud. 1965-1988
47 A Bullet for Cinderella. 1955-1988
47 Cancel All Our Vows. 1952-1987
47 Cinnamon Skin. 1979-1988
47 Clemmie. 1958-1986
47 Condominium. 1976-1988
47 Contrary Pleasure. 1968-1986
48 The Crossroads. 1959-1983
48 Cry Hard, Cry Fast. 1954-1985
48 Copyright Correspondence. 1968-1980
48 Copyright Correspondence. 1975-1980
48 Copyright Correspondence. 1982-1987
48 The Damned. 1951-1985
48 Darker than Amber (General correspondence, mostly on contracts and copyright information). 1965-1986
48 Dead Low Tide. 1952-1985
48 A Deadly Shade of Gold. 1965-1983
48 Deadly Welcome. 1958-1966
48 Death Trap. 1956-1980
49 The Deceivers. 1957-1981
49 The Deep Blue Goodbye. 1964-1988
49 The Dreadful Lemon Sky. 1974-1987
49 Dress Her in Indigo. 1967-1988
49 The Drowner. 1962-1988
49 The Empty Copper Sea. 1974-1988
49 The Empty Trap. 1956-1988
49 The End of the Night. 1959-1987
49 End of the Tiger and Other Stories. 1965-1987
49 The Executioner. 1957-1987
50 A Flash of Green. 1962-1985
50 Free Fall in Crimson. 1979-1982
50 A Friendship. 1985-1987
50 The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper. 1968-1986
50 The Girl, The Gold Watch and Everything. 1962-1986
50 The Good Old Stuff. 1980-1988
50 The Green Ripper. 1979-1988
50 The House Guests. 1964, 1973
50 I Could Go On Singing. 1963-1983
50 Judge Me Not. 1951-1985
50 A Key to the Suite. 1965-1984
50 The Last One Left. 1966-1987
50 The Lethal Sex. 1959
51 The Lonely Silver Rain. 1979-1988
51 The Lonely Stage. 1962
51 The Long Lavender Look. 1969-1988
51 A Man of Affairs. 1957-1987
51 McGee Novels Collection. 1967-1986
51 Miscellaneous Receipts, Royalty Statements, Checks, and Correspondence. 1983-1987
51 More Good Old Stuff. 1983-1988
51 Murder for the Bride. 1951-1988
51 Murder in the Wind. 1955-1984
51 The Neon Jungle. 1953-1980
51 Nightmare in Pink. 1964-1988
51 No Deadly Drug. 1967-1985
51 Nothing Can Go Wrong. 1980
51 On the Run. 1962-1985
51 One Fearful Yellow Eye. 1966-1988
52 One Monday We Killed Them All. 1961-1987
52 One More Sunday. 1983-1988
52 The Only Girl in the Game. 1960-1988
52 Other Times, Other Worlds. 1978-1982
52 Pale Gray for Guilt. 1968-1988
52 Please Write for Details. 1958-1986
52 The Price of Murder. 1957-1986
52 A Purple Place for Dying. 1964-1988
52 The Quick Red Fox. 1964-1988
52 The Scarlet Ruse. 1972-1988
52 S*e*v*e*n. 1970-1987
53 Short Stories contracts and royalties #1 of 2. 1955-1986
53 Short Stories contracts and royalties #2 of 2. 1953-1988
53 Slam the Big Door. 1959-1988
53 Soft Touch. 1951-1985
53 A Tan and Sandy Silence. 1971-1988
53 Travis McGee Novel #22. 1979-1986
53 Travis McGee Novel #23. 1985-1986
53 Travis McGee Quiz Book (The Official). 1983-1988
53 The Turquoise Lament. 1973-1988
53 Weep for Me. 1951-1979
53 Where is Janice Gantry?. 1961-1980
53 Wine of Dreamers. 1951-1984
53 You Only Live Once. 1954-1986

Series 2F - Correspondence with Authors and Artists

Contains correspondence with other authors (established and novice), artists, and actors. Correspondents are filed alphabetically by last name (if available - first name or initial if not). When searching for a particular correspondent, it is recommended to search under both their first and last names (including variations on nick names), as many letters are not formally signed and are therefore difficult to identify. Correspondents for whom there is a large amount of material are filed in their own individual files.


Box
54 Unknown - A. 1952-1983
54 B #1 of 2. 1955-1986
54 B #2 of 2. 1955-1986
54 C. 1959
54 D. 1950-1985
54 E. 1966-1984
54 F. 1962-1985
54 G. 1946-1985
54 H. 1967-1986
54 I. 1972-1981
54 J. 1959-1985
54 K. 1955-1986
55 L. 1959-1985
55 M. 1953-1985
55 N. 1949-1974
55 O. 1969-1982
55 P. 1959-1985
55 Q-R. 1952-1986
55 S #1 of 2. 1952-1985
55 S #2 of 2. 1952-1985
55 T-U-V. 1953-1985
55 W. 1952-1986
55 X-Y-Z. 1963-1985
55 Albee, George. 1959-1964
55 Avallone, Michael. 1969-1985
55 Bethancourt, Tom and Nancy. 1982-1986
55 Burns, Eric - Correspondence. 1982
56 Collins, LeRoy. 1969-1971
56 Corley, Edwin. 1969-1970
56 Cox, William r. 1965-1981
56 Deal, Borden. 1964-1977
56 Dietrich, Marlene. 1975-1976
56 Gault, William Campbell. 1952-1986
56 Geckle, William F. 1977-1986
56 Gehman, Richard. 1959-1968
56 Gehman, Richard - Correspondence. 1968
56 Glendinning, Richard. 1950-1980
56 Glendinning, Richard - Correspondence. 1977-1984
56 Glendinning, Richard - Correspondence. 1984-1986
56 Harrington, Joseph. 1957-1977
56 Harrison, Jim. 1969-1984
56 Harrison, Jim (manuscript). Not dated
56 Hensley, Joe. 1981-1986
56 Homewood, Harry. 1976-1984
56 Hunt, Howard. 1955-1985
56 Jakes, John. 1961-1985
56 Kantor, Mackinlay. 1958-1977
56 Keasler, John. 1966-1983
56 King, Stephen. 1977-1986
57 Lanier, Sterling. 1969-1984
57 Leonard, Elmore. 1982-1986
57 MacNair, Van. 1974-1979
57 Mahan, Bill. 1969-1984
57 Marti-Ibanez, Felix. 1958-1968
57 Martin, Robert. 1953-1974
57 McDaniel, Charles. 1966-1986
57 Chimney, James. 1952-1975
57 Nussbaum, Al. 1981-1985
57 Pratt, Ted. 1957-1967
57 Rackowe, Alec. 1952-1983
57 Scrimegour, Gary. 1980-1986
57 Stahl, Ben. 1960s
57 Swalm, Neal Chapline. 1953, 1984
57 Vonnegut, Kurt. 1966-1981
57 Weisstein, Naomi. 1979-1980
57 Williams, Charlie. 1953-1970
57 Woltman, Frederick. 1959-1968

Series 2G - Promotional Materials

Contains correspondence and materials related to various promotional ventures that were not related to any specific work.


Box
58 Clippings, Bulletins, Books on Tape. 1983
58 Correspondence - Harris, S. Miller (Eagle Shirts) #1 of 2 ("Regarding The McGee, a kind of shirt they manufactured with my permission and sold many of during 1968-1971, my only fee being free shirts, probably 3 dozen in all. Harris is a very witty correspondent." - JDM). 1969-1973
58 Correspondence - Harris, S. Miller (Eagle Shirts) #2 of 2. 1964-1969
58 Fawcet - Book covers and JDM biography. 1974
58 General Correspondence. 1982-1983
58 McGee Shirts - fabric samples. 1977
58 McGee Shirts - Wooden Plaque Advertisements. 1969-1970
58 Misc. Advertisements. 1964-1984
58 Press Releases. 1965
58 Promotional Tour of England. 1976
58 Travis McGee Questionnaire. 1983

Series 2H - Affiliations

Contains correspondence, memos, newsletters, and news clippings related to the professional affiliations kept by MacDonald, including the Crime Writers Association, the Mystery Writers of America, the Writer's Guild of America, and the Sarasota writers' "Friday Lunch Bunch." Affiliations are listed alphabetically by organization.


Box
58 Allied Arts Council - Correspondence, clippings, minutes, etc. 1963-1966
58 American Center of PEN Inst. - Newsletters. 1965-1967
58 American Center of PEN Inst. - Newsletters. 1973-1976
58 American Center of PEN Inst. - Newsletters. 1977-1984
58 American Center of PEN Inst. - Correspondence, Membership lists. 1965-1974
58 American Booksellers Association - Convention. 1981
59 Arents Medal - Syracuse University. 1971, 1978
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1962-1964
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1965-1966
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1967
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1968-1970
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1971-1972
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1973-1974
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1975-1976
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1977
59 Author's Guild Bulletin. 1981-1984
59 Author's Guild - Correspondence. 1962-1984
59 Author's Guild - Miscellaneous. 1962-1967
59 Author's Guild - Miscellaneous. 1970-1981
59 Benjamin Franklin Magazine Award. 1956
60 Biographical Data - Who's Who, Contemporary Authors, etc. 1952-1985
60 Crime Writers Association - Membership Lists and Miscellaneous. 1966-1986
60 Crime Writers Association - Red Herrings (Bulletin). 1973-1975
60 Crime Writers Association - Red Herrings (Bulletin). 1976-1977
60 Crime Writers Association - Red Herrings (Bulletin). 1981-1984
60 Explorer's Club. 1979
60 Fiction Writers' Conference. 1952-1953
60 Field Club - Correspondence. 1959-1965
60 Friday Lunch Bunch - "A Host of Fridays". 1984
60 Friday Lunch Bunch - Correspondence. 1972-1982
60 Friday Lunch Bunch - News Articles re: group or its individual members. Not dated
60 Friday Lunch Bunch - Records and Summaries. 1968-1985
60 General Correspondence. 1959
60 Miscellaneous Bulletins. 1984
60 Mystery Writers of America - Awards Dinner Program. 1963-1976
60 Mystery Writers of America - Awards Dinner Program. 1982
60 Mystery Writers of America - Correspondence. 1956-1962
60 Mystery Writers of America - Correspondence. 1962-1985
61 Mystery Writers of America - Constitution and Minutes. 1961-1963
61 Mystery Writers of America - Miscellaneous. 1961-1967
61 Mystery Writers of America - The Third Degree. 1961-1966
61 Mystery Writers of America - The Third Degree. 1970-1976
61 Mystery Writers of America - The Third Degree. 1977-1983
61 Oceanographic Foundation - Membership Certificate. 1962
61 The Player's Club - Correspondence, memos, booklets, bulletins. 1966-1968
61 Writer's Guild of America - Booklets, memos, etc. 1959-1969
61 Writer's Guild of America - Constitution, bylaws, and amendments. 1969-1972
61 Writer's Guild of America - Memos. 1968-1970
61 Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1976
61 Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1975
61 Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1974
61 Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1973
62 Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1972
62 Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1971
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1970-1971
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1972
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1973
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1974
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1975
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1976
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1976-1977
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1978
62 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1979
63 Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1977-1978
63 University Club (Sarasota) #1 of 2. 1969-1970
63 University Club (Sarasota) #2 of 2. 1970-1971

Series 2I - Civic and Political Affairs

Contains correspondence, clippings, publications, and other materials related to MacDonald's various civic and political concerns, including environmental issues, political campaigns. This section also contains invitations for public appearances. The material is categorized as either National, State, or Local Matters.


Box
63 Local Matters - Community Goals Council. 1966
63 Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1968-1969
63 Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1970-1972
63 Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1973
63 Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1974
63 Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1975-1976
63 Local Matters - "History of Siesta Key" Newspaper. 1983
63 Local Matters - "The Meadow". 1972-1973
63 Local Matters - Sarasota Arts Association. 1956-1958
63 Local Matters - Sarasota Arts Association. 1961-1968
63 Local Matters - Sarasota Banyan Club. 1987
63 Local Matters - Sarasota County Chamber of Commerce. 1965
64 Local Matters - Sarasota County Civic League. 1960-1967
64 Local Matters - Sarasota County League of Women Voters. 1964
64 Local Matters - Sarasota County Recreation Council. 1958-1959
64 Local Matters - Sarasota/Miami Civilian Orientation Cruise. 1956-1957
64 Local Matters - Sarasota Sign Ordinance. 1964-1965
64 Local Matters - Save Our Beautiful Scene #1 of 2. 1965-1968
64 Local Matters - Save Our Beautiful Scene #2 of 2. 1968
64 Local Matters - Siesta Key Association correspondence and minutes. 1955-1967
64 Local Matters - Siesta Key Association Newsletter. 1971-1982
64 Local Matters - Siesta Key Bank Application for Charter. 1968-1969
64 Local Matters - Shangri-La Isles - real estate. 1967-1968
64 National Matters - Bruce Valor, National Gay Task Force. 1977-1978
64 National Matters - Material Against People's Bicentennial Commission #1 of 2. 1975
64 National Matters - Material Against People's Bicentennial Commission #2 of 2 (news clippings). 1970-1974
64 National Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1974-1986
64 National Matters - Public Appearances, Aspen Institute. 1964-1965
65 National, State, Local Matters - Misc. Civic Clippings. 1983-1985
65 National, State, Local Matters - Misc. Civic Clippings. 1968-1973
65 National, State, Local Matters - Misc. Civic Clippings. 1974-1983
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1953-1961
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1962
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1963-1964
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1965
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1967-1969
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1975-1976
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1975-1978
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1979
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1979-1980
65 Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1981
65 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Advertising. 1966-1968
65 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Contributions. 1968
65 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Correspondence. 1966-1967
66 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Correspondence #1 of 2. 1968
66 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Correspondence #2 of 2. 1968
66 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Clippings, correspondence. 1966-1969
66 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Guerney Research. 1963-1968
66 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Speeches. 1965-1967
66 State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Speeches. 1966
66 State Matters - Correspondence and Clippings. 1965-1970
66 State Matters - Correspondence, Civic/Environmental Issues. 1979-1984
66 State Matters - Cruelty to Animals, correspondence. 1983
66 State Matters - Eckerd Drug Controversy. 1966
66 State Matters - Ecological Publications and Materials. 1984-1986
66 State Matters - Florida Defenders of the Environment. 1981-1986
67 State Matters - Florida Institute of Public Affairs, correspondence. 1969
67 State Matters - High, Robert King (Miami Mayor): Correspondence, clippings. 1966-1967
67 State Matters - Obscenity Trial in Tampa ("Correspondence re: testifying for defense in obscenity trial in Tampa when public prosecutor was trying to remove imitations of Playboy from stands." - JDM). 1960
67 State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1957-1962
67 State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1963-1968
67 State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1974-1977
67 State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1978-1979
67 State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1984-1986

Series 2J - Fan Mail

Contains correspondence with fans. General correspondence is organized chronologically. Requests for information are grouped alphabetically by correspondent's last name (if available).


Box
67 Concerning TV Guide Article. 1979-1980
67 Directions/Supplies for Anne Guthrie. 1967
67 Albert Mittal ("Albert first wrote me when he was eleven years old, and working in a book and magazine dealership. There was an ingenuous freshness about his notes, and I tried to write to him without patronizing him. The relationship petered out, as anticipated, when he became 22." - JDM). 1965-1977
67 Fan Mail used in Redbook Story. 1985-1986
67 Concerning McGee Party, Piseco. 1981
67 Fan Mail - General. Not dated
68 Fan Mail - General. Not dated
68 Fan Mail - General. 1961
68 Fan Mail - General. 1962
68 Fan Mail - General. 1963
68 Fan Mail - General. 1964
68 Fan Mail - General. 1965 Jan - Apr
68 Fan Mail - General. 1965 May - Dec
68 Fan Mail - General. 1966 Jan - Aug
68 Fan Mail - General. 1966 Sep - Dec
68 Fan Mail - General. 1967 Jan - Mar
68 Fan Mail - General. 1967 Apr - July
68 Fan Mail - General. 1967 Aug - Dec
69 Fan Mail - General. 1968 Jan - May
69 Fan Mail - General. 1968 June - Sep
69 Fan Mail - General. 1968 Oct - Dec
69 Fan Mail - General. 1969 Jan - Jul
69 Fan Mail - General. 1969 Aug - Dec
69 Fan Mail - General. 1970 Jan - June
69 Fan Mail - General. 1970 Jul - Dec
69 Fan Mail - General. 1971 Jan - June
69 Fan Mail - General. 1971 Jul - Dec
70 Fan Mail - General. 1972 Jan - Jun
70 Fan Mail - General. 1972 July - Dec
70 Fan Mail - General. 1973 Jan - Jul
70 Fan Mail - General. 1973 Aug - Dec
70 Fan Mail - General. 1974 Jan - Jun
70 Fan Mail - General. 1974 Jul - Dec
70 Fan Mail - General. 1975 Jan - Jun
70 Fan Mail - General. 1975 Jul - Dec
70 Fan Mail - General. 1976 Jan - Jun
71 Fan Mail - General. 1976 Jul - Dec
71 Fan Mail - General. 1977 Jan - May
71 Fan Mail - General. 1977 Jun - Dec
71 Fan Mail - General. 1978 Jan - Jun
71 Fan Mail - General. 1978 Jul - Dec
71 Fan Mail - General. 1979 Jan - May
71 Fan Mail - General. 1979 Jun - Sep
71 Fan Mail - General. 1979 Oct - Dec
71 Fan Mail - General. 1980 Jan - Mar
72 Fan Mail - General. 1980 Apr - Jul
72 Fan Mail - General. 1980 Aug - Dec
72 Fan Mail - General. 1981 Jan - Apr
72 Fan Mail - General. 1981 May - Jul
72 Fan Mail - General. 1981 Aug - Dec
72 Fan Mail - General. 1982 Jan - Jul
72 Fan Mail - General. 1982 Aug - Dec
72 Fan Mail - General. 1983 Jan - Jun
72 Fan Mail - General. 1983 Jul - Dec
73 Fan Mail - General. 1984 Jan - Apr
73 Fan Mail - General. 1984 May - Dec
73 Fan Mail - General. 1985 Jan - Mar
73 Fan Mail - General. 1985 Apr - Jun
73 Fan Mail - General. 1985 Jul - Oct
73 Fan Mail - General. 1985 Nov - Dec
73 Fan Mail - General. 1986 Jan - Mar
73 Fan Mail - General. 1986 Apr - Jul
73 Requests for Info - A. 1981-1984
74 Requests for Info - A. 1982-1997
74 Requests for Info - B. 1981-1984
74 Requests for Info - B. 1981-1985
74 Requests for Info - C. 1962-1986
74 Requests for Info - C. 1981-1984
74 Requests for Info - D. 1981-1988
74 Requests for Info - D. 1981-1987
75 Requests for Info - E, F. 1980-1986
75 Requests for Info - G. 1980-1986
75 Requests for Info - H. 1980-1986
75 Requests for Info - I, J. 1981-1987
75 Requests for Info - K. 1981-1986
75 Requests for Info - L. 1981-1986
75 Requests for Info - M. 1981-1984
76 Requests for Info - M. 1982-1986
76 Requests for Info - N. 1981-1986
76 Requests for Info - O. 1981-1986
76 Requests for Info - P. 1981-1986
76 Requests for Info - Q, R. 1981-1986
76 Requests for Info - S. 1981-1983
76 Requests for Info - S. 1981-1986
76 Requests for Info - T, U. 1981-1986
77 Requests for Info - V. 1981-1986
77 Requests for Info - W. 1981-1987
77 Requests for Info - Y. 1981-1986
77 Requests for Info - Z. 1981-1983

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.





For further information, please contact: Flo Turcotte, Literary Manuscripts Archivist.

University of Florida Home Page