Skip to Search



The John D. MacDonald Collection : Contents List Continued

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.




Secondary Sources and Works by Other Authors


Series 4A - Articles and Publications by Other Authors

This section contains books and articles written about JDM and Travis McGee. Material is organized alphabetical by subject (reverse chronological within subjects).


Box
155 Articles About JDM (copies of articles, magazines, tear sheets). 1984-2009
155 Articles About JDM (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1980-1983
156 Articles About JDM (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1975-1979
156 Articles About JDM (Chicago Tribune Book World article). 1973 Jul 15
156 Articles About JDM (copies of articles, magazines, tear sheets). 1970-1974
156 Articles About JDM (copies of articles, magazines, tear sheets). 1960-1969
156 Articles About JDM (Siesta Out-Look article). 1956 Oct 26
156 Articles About JDM (copies of articles). 1946-1959
156 Articles About JDM (copies of articles, newsletters, tear sheets). Not dated
156 Articles About JDM - "In Memory of JDM" ("Clubhouse" page 15). 1987 Mar
156 Articles About JDM - "John, We Hardly Knew You" ("Milwaukee Magazine" page 11). 1987 Mar
156 Articles About JDM - Two articles by Mike White in "Cashiers du Cinemart": "Travis McGee and the Lonely Silver Screen" (issue 14, 2004) and "Return to the Busted Flush" (issue 15, 2007). 2004, 2007
156 Articles About Travis McGee (copies of articles, newsletters, tear sheets). 1969-1986
156 Articles About Travis McGee (copies of articles, tear sheets). Not dated
156 Books About JDM - Brogan, John, "The Official Travis McGee Quiz Book" (typescript with an introduction by JDM). Not dated
156 Books About JDM - Hirshberg, Edgar W., "John D. MacDonald" (correspondence, typescript). 1985
156 Books About JDM - MacNair, Van Jr., "Morning in Mexico" (typescript). Not dated
156 Books About JDM - Moffatt, Len and June; Clark, William J., "The JDM Master Checklist: A Bibliography of the Published Writings of John D. MacDonald" (typescript with written corrections). 1969
156 Books About JDM - Moffatt, Len and June; Clark, William J., "The JDM Master Checklist: A Bibliography of the Published Writings of John D. MacDonald" books (2 copies). 1969
156 Books About JDM - Moffatt, Len and June; Clark, William J., "The JDM Master Checklist: A Bibliography of the Published Writings of John D. MacDonald" (correspondence). 1963-1969, Not dated
156 Books About JDM - O'Brien, Geoffrey, "Hardboiled America" (correspondence, articles, typescript with corrections). 1981
157 Books About JDM - Rotsler, William, "The John D. MacDonald Quotebook" (from "Quotebook"). Not dated
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography: Additions and Corrections" (correspondence, typescripts with corrections). 1983, Not dated
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (correspondence). [See also the "Oversize Materials" series for galleys, printer's copy, coversheets.] 1980, 1984
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" - correspondence, articles, scrapbook (copies of book pages with autographs and notes). 1980, 1982
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (permission request correspondence, cover samples). 1980, Not dated
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (correspondence). 1979, Not dated
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (correspondence, copies of short stories, adverts, typescript pages). 1960-1977, Not dated
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "Private Investigators" (copy of typescript). 1979
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "A Potpourri of Printings: The Books of John D. MacDonald" (copy of book). 1982
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean; Research, Reviews, Advertising (articles, adverts, book list). 1964, Not dated
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald: A True Bibliophile" (book with "Property-Dorothy P. MacDonald" on cover). 1985 Mar
157 Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "JDM: A True Bibliophile" (typescript). Not dated
157 Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1982-1986
157 Published Journals / Books About JDM (copies of journal articles). 1976-1980

Series 4B - Critical Reviews

This section contains reviews published on JDM's works and general criticisms. They are grouped by title of the work with the general criticisms at the end. The works are organized alphabetically.


Box
157 Books of John D. MacDonald on the Best Seller Lists (New York Times, Publisher's Weekly, Time). 1975-1985
157 Ballroom of the Skies (copies of reviews). 1968 Feb -1973 May
157 Barrier Island (copies of reviews, tear sheets, correspondence). 1986 Apr-Sep, Not dated
157 The Beach Girls (review clippings). 1968 Apr-Sep
157 Border Town Girl (copies of reviews). 1969 Jul
157 The Brass Cupcake (copies of reviews). 1968 Nov
157 Bright Orange for the Shroud (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1972 Apr-1973 Mar
157 Bullet for Cinderella (copy of review). 1966 Jul
157 Cancel All Our Vows (copies of reviews). 1972 Jun-Sep
157 Cape Fear (The Executioners) (copy of review). 1967 Nov
157 Cinnamon Skin (copies of reviews, booklet, tear sheets). 1982 Mar-1983 Sep, Not dated
157 Clemmie (copy of review). 1958?
158 Condominium (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1976 Nov -1977 Apr
158 Condominium (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1977 May-1978 Jan
158 Condominium (copies of reviews, booklet, correspondence). Not dated
158 Contrary Pleasure (copies of reviews). 1969 Jan-Jun
158 The Crossroads (review clipping). 1968 Oct
158 Cry Hard, Cry Fast (copy of reviews, tear sheets). 1967 Apr-1971 Jul
158 The Damned (copy of reviews). 1955 May, 1964 Oct
158 Darker Than Amber (copies of reviews). 1966 Jun -1970 Apr
158 Dead Low Tide (copies of reviews). 1953 May-Jul
158 Deadly Shade of Gold (copies of reviews). 1967 May-1976 Feb
158 The Deceivers (copies of reviews). 1968 Mar
158 The Deep Blue Good-By (copies of reviews). 1968 Apr-1976 Apr
158 The Dreadful Lemon Sky (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1975 Jan-1976 Jan
158 Dress Her in Indigo (copies of reviews). 1969 Jul-1975 Jun
158 The Empty Copper Sea (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1978 May-1979 Oct
158 The Empty Trap (copies of reviews). 1967 May-Apr
158 The End of the Night (copies of reviews, booklets). 1960-1988 Jul
158 End of the Tiger and Other Short Stories (copies of reviews). 1966 Jul-1968 Mar
158 Flash of Green (copies of reviews). 1962 Aug-1977 Sep
158 Free Fall in Crimson (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1981 Mar-1982 Jun
158 A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald 1967-1974 (copies of reviews). 1986 Oct-1987 Feb
158 The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (copies of reviews). 1968 Oct-1973 Aug
159 The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Everything (reviews). 1967 Sep-1968 Feb
159 The Good Old Stuff (copies of reviews). Sept. 1982 - April 1983
159 The Green Ripper (copies of reviews, tear sheets, magazine). 1979 Aug-1980 Dec
159 The House Guests (copies of reviews). 1965 Feb-1973 Dec
159 A Key to the Suite (copies of reviews). 1962 Apr-1968 Dec
159 The Last One Left (copies of reviews, booklet). 1966 Oct-1969 Jan
159 The Last One Left (copies of reviews). Not dated
159 The Lonely Silver Rain (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1985 Jan-Nov
159 The Long Lavender Look (copies of reviews). 1972 Jan-Sep
159 More Good Old Stuff (copies of reviews). 1984 Mar-Dec
159 Murder in the Wind (copy of review). 1956 Sep
159 Nightmare in Pink (copies of reviews). 1966 Mar-1976 Jul
159 No Deadly Drug (copies of reviews). 1966 Nov-1969 May
159 Nothing Can Go Wrong (copies of reviews). 1981 Aug-1983 Apr
159 One Fearful Yellow Eye (copies of reviews). 1967 Feb-1978 Apr
159 One More Sunday (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1984 Jan-Oct
159 One More Sunday (copies of reviews). Not dated
159 The Only Girl in the Game (copies of reviews). 1967 May-1968 Apr
159 Pale Grey for Guilt (copies of reviews). 1968 Jan-1972 Mar, Not dated
159 Please Write for Details (copies of reviews). 1959 Feb-1971 Jul
159 The Price of Murder (copies of reviews). 1966 Apr-1967 Feb
159 A Purple Place for Dying (copies of reviews). 1968 Aug-1977 Apr, Not dated
159 The Quick Red Fox (copies of reviews). 1966 Dec-1974 Aug, Not dated
159 The Scarlet Ruse (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1973 May-1980 Dec
159 The Scarlet Ruse (copies of reviews). Not dated
159 S*E*V*E*N (copy of article). 1971 May
159 Slam the Big Door (copies of reviews, booklet). 1954 Sep-1987 Mar
159 A Tan and Sandy Silence (copies of reviews). 1972 Jan-1979 Aug
159 Three for McGee (copies of reviews, booklet). 1964 Oct-1970 Feb
159 The Turquoise Lament (copies of reviews, newsletter, booklet). 1973 Sep-1980
160 Wine of the Dreamers (copies of reviews). 1968 Feb-1969 Feb
160 You Live Once (copies of reviews). 1967 Mar
160 General Criticism About JDM's Work (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1962-1986

Series 4C - Academic Research and Scholarship

Contains theses, essays, course information, correspondence, and scholarly journal articles discussing JDM's work from an academic view. Material is organized alphabetically by type of work produced.


Box
160 Correspondence - Burger, Knox (about student essays). 1969
160 Correspondence - Carney, Raymond. 1979
160 Correspondence - Cromie, Alice. 1982
160 Correspondence - Kelly, R. Gordon. 1972
160 Correspondence - Schworm, Vixon. 1967-1968
160 Correspondence - Tolley, Michael J. 1977
160 Correspondence - Troutman, Richard B. 1980
160 Course - Tolley, Michael J., "The Hero in Popular Fiction" (radio university book). 1977
160 Essay - Abrahams, Etta C., "The Trouble with Cops." (typescript, 6 pages). 1978
160 Essay - Allen, Marcia W., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Azar, Karen M., "In Defense of Salvage Experts Everywhere" (typescript for paperbacks class, 3 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Bente, Diane, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 23
160 Essay - Bissette, Sabra, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 17
160 Essay - Britten, Norman A., "From the 1940s to the 1980s: John D. MacDonald's Increasing Use of Scatological Language" (typescript, 16 pages). 1979
160 Essay - Cabot, Joan G., "Critique of a Paperback Book" (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969
160 Essay - Carney, Raymond, "John MacDonald and the Technologies of Knowledge" (typescript, 6 pages). 1979
160 Essay - Cheever, Susan, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Cromie, Alice, "Travis McGee's Florida" (typescript, 19 pages). 1982
160 Essay - Driscoll, William, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Fleming, Susan, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Friberg, Karen, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Grimes, Larry E., "The Reluctant Hero: Reflections on vocation and Heroism in the Travis McGee Novels of John D. MacDonald" (typescript, 10 pages). Not dated
160 Essay - Gross, Hank, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Groth, Robin B., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Handlin, R., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Higgins, Anthony, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Huntsberger, Marilyn, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Hurley, Martha L., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 17
160 Essay - Jeffrey, David K., "The Mythology of Crime and Violence" (typescript, 11 pages). Not dated
160 Essay - Jukes, John, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Kelly, R. Gordon, "The Precarious World of John D. MacDonald" (typescript, 21 pages). 1972
160 Essay - Larry, Melinda, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 19
160 Essay - Lavoie, Rachel, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Lewis, Joe, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - MacAuslem, Russell, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Matsukawa, Sandra, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 22
160 Essay - Modius, Alice, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969
160 Essay - Moran, Peggy, "McGee's Girls" (typescript, 9 pages). Not dated
160 Essay - Nevins, Francis M., Jr., "The Making of a Tale Spinner: John D. MacDonald's Early Pulp Stories" (typescript, 10 pages). Not dated
160 Essay - O'Hara, Ann, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Rose, Deborah, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Shinn, Michael, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Spaulding, M., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Stopinski, Bettie, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Tellerman, Judith, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Tolley, Michael J., "Color Him Quixote: MacDonald's Strategy in the Early McGee Novels" (typescript, 22 pages). 1977
160 Essay - Wall, Donald C., "Ecology and the Detective Novel: The Contribution of John D. MacDonald" (typescript, 16 pages). Not dated
160 Essay - Willeford, Charles, "Travis McGee and the Big White Smile" (typescripts, 19 pages, note "I do not know if this essay by Charles Willeford was ever published."-JDM). Not dated
160 Essay - Wood, Arnold A., Jr., "John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee: Hero in Search of Self" (typescript, 31 pages). 1977
160 Essay - Wright, Lawrence, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
160 Essay - Unknown Author, "Travis McGee as a Traditional Hero" (typescript, 12 pages). Not dated
160 Scholarly Journal - "Clues: A Journal of Detection" ("The Disorderly World of...", "John D. MacDonald's Increasing Use...", copies of articles). 1982, 1986
160 Thesis - Abrahams, Etta Claire, "Visions and Values in the Action Detective Novel: A Study of the Works of Raymond Chandler, Kenneth Millar, and John D. MacDonald" (bound copy, 197 pages). 1973
160 Thesis - LeBouef, Robert A. (correspondence, prospectus for thesis). 1975
160 Thesis - Mallory, Margaret I., "The Heroes of John D. MacDonald's Novels of Violence" (typescript, 128 pages). 1976 Aug
160 Thesis - Troutman, Richard B., "Adam Unparadised" (typescript, 80 pages). 1978

Series 4D - Screenplays

This section contains screenplays relating to JDM's novels, and articles about the films and the filming process. The material is organized alphabetically by title of screenplay.


Box
161 The Beach Girls - McDaniel, Charles A. (outline, production budget). 1970
161 The Bloodshot Rainbow - Sharp, Alan (pilot script for TV movie, revised first draft). 1981 Nov 10
161 Bright Orange for the Shroud - Rossio, Terry and Ted Elliott (screenplay, revised first draft). 1989 March 10
161 Cape Fear (The Executioners) - Webb, James R. (review). 1962 May
161 Cape Fear (The Executioners) - Webb, James R. (final revised screenplay). 1961
161 Condominium (reviews). 1979-1980
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (photos, correspondence, articles, biographies). 1970
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed ("shooting script", final draft). 1969 Aug
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed ("shooting script", first draft). 1969 Feb
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (correspondence). 1968 Jun-Sep
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (typescript, corrections). 1968 Jun 4
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (reviews). 1967 May-1978 Aug, Not dated
161 Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (typescript). Not dated
161 Deep Blue Good-by - Stern, Sandy (typescript final draft). 1970 Sep
161 Deep Blue Good-by - Stevens, Dana (unproduced screenplay). 2003 May 13
162 The Empty Copper Sea - Silliphant, Stirling (typescript final draft). 1982
162 The Empty Copper Sea - Silliphant, Stirling (typescript pilot draft). 1981
162 The Empty Copper Sea - Silliphant, Stirling (articles). 1980 Dec-1983 Jun
162 A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (articles). 1983 Jul-1986 Jan
162 A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (autographed typescript). 1983
162 A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (correspondence). 1982 Jun-1986 May
162 A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (confidential offering memorandum). 1982
162 A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (typescript second draft). 1981
162 The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Dynamite - Zateslo, George (typescript final draft). 1981
162 The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Dynamite - Zateslo, George (articles). 1980 Feb-1981 May
162 I Could Go on Singing: The Lonely Stage - Simon, Mayo (typescript). 1961
162 I Could Go on Singing: The Lonely Stage - Dozier, Robert (typescript). Not dated
162 I Could Go on Singing: The Lonely Stage (unfinished typescript). Not dated
162 In the Heat of the Night - Silliphant, Stirling (typescript revised first draft). 1966
163 Judd for the Defense - McDaniel, Charles A. (typescript final draft). 1968
163 The Lonely Silver Rain - Browning, Rod (typescript first draft). 1986
163 Show Business Illustrated - The Judy Garland Story (research, 3 parts). 1961 Oct-Nov
163 The Soft Touch - Hunt, Gordon; Burton, Al (typescript). 1961
163 The Trap of Solid Gold - Violett, Ellen M. (articles). 1966 Dec-1967 Jan
163 The Trap of Solid Gold - Violett, Ellen M. (typescript final draft). 1966
163 Travis McGee - Johnson, Kenneth (typescript first draft). 1982
163 Miscellaneous Articles About JDM TV / Movie Projects. 1965 Jan-1983 Jun

Series 4E - Bibliophile and Fanzines

Contains Bronze Shadows issues (#6-#12), An Index to the JDM Bibliophile, The JDM Bibliophile issues (#2-#65), The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin issues (#1-#4), Mystery Lover's Newsletter, Mystery Writer's Annual, Obelisk, and Special Confidential Reports. The material is organized alphabetically by publication, and by issue number.


Box
163 Bronze Shadows #6 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1966 Sep
163 Bronze Shadows #7 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1966 Nov
163 Bronze Shadows #8 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Jan
163 Bronze Shadows #9 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Mar
163 Bronze Shadows #10 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Jun
163 Bronze Shadows #11 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Aug
163 Bronze Shadows #12 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Oct
163 An Index to the JDM Bibliophile (Jean and Walter Shine, issues 1-30). 1982
163 An Index to the JDM Bibliophile (Jean and Walter Shine, issues 1-30, typescript first draft). 1982
163 The JDM Bibliophile #2 (editor: Len Moffatt). 1966 May
163 The JDM Bibliophile #3 (editor: Len Moffatt). 1966 Aug
163 The JDM Bibliophile #4 (editor: Len Moffatt). 1966 Nov
163 The JDM Bibliophile #5 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 Feb
163 The JDM Bibliophile #6 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 May
163 The JDM Bibliophile #7 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 Aug
163 The JDM Bibliophile #8 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 Dec
163 The JDM Bibliophile #9 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1968 Mar
163 The JDM Bibliophile #10 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1968 Jun
163 The JDM Bibliophile #11 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1969 Apr
163 The JDM Bibliophile #12 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1969 Aug
163 The JDM Bibliophile #13 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1970 Jan
163 The JDM Bibliophile #14 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1970 Aug
163 The JDM Bibliophile #15 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1971 Mar
163 The JDM Bibliophile #16 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1971 Aug
163 The JDM Bibliophile #17 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1972 Mar
163 The JDM Bibliophile #18 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1973 Apr
163 The JDM Bibliophile #19 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1974 Sep
163 The JDM Bibliophile #20 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1975 Mar
163 The JDM Bibliophile #21 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1976 Feb
163 The JDM Bibliophile #22 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1977 Aug
163 The JDM Bibliophile #23 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1979 Jan
163 The JDM Bibliophile #24 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1979 Jul
163 The JDM Bibliophile #25 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1980 Jan
163 The JDM Bibliophile #26 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1980 Jul
163 The JDM Bibliophile #27 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1981 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #28 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1981 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #29 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1982 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #30 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1982 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #31 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1983 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #32 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1983 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #33 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1984 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #34 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1984 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #35 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1985 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #36 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1985 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #37 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1986 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #38 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1986 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #39 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1987 Jan
164 The JDM Bibliophile #40 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1987 Nov-Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #41 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1988 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #42 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1988 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #43 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1989 Jun
164 The JDM Bibliophile #44 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1989 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #45 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1990 Jun
164 The JDM Bibliophile #46 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1990 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #47 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1991 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #48 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1991 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #49 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1992 Jun
164 The JDM Bibliophile #50 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1992 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #51 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1993 Jun
164 The JDM Bibliophile #52 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1993 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #53 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1994 Jun
164 The JDM Bibliophile #54 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1994 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #55 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1995 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #56 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1995 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #57 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1996 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #58 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1996 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #59 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1997 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #60 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1997 Dec
164 The JDM Bibliophile #61 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1998 Jul
164 The JDM Bibliophile #62 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1998 Dec
165 The JDM Bibliophile #63 and 64 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1999 Jul, Dec
165 The JDM Bibliophile #65 Memorial Issue (editor: Valerie Lawson). 2004 Dec
165 The JDM Bibliophile: Special Confidential Report (Jean and Walter Shine). 1979
165 The JDM Bibliophile - Misc. Papers (title list, memo, newsletters). 1967 Mar-1980 Dec
165 The JDM Bibliophile - Subscription Renewal Forms. 1982, 1986
165 The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #1 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1972 Aug-Sep
165 The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #2 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1976 Aug
165 The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #3 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1976 Nov
165 The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #4 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1978 May
165 The Mystery Lover's Newsletter (editor: Lianne Carlin). 1968 Aug
165 Mystery Writer's Annual. 1969 Apr
165 Obelisk Volume VIII (editor: Kathleen Cook). 1967
165 Obelisk Volume IX (editor: Lisa Hansen). 1968
165 Special Confidential Report Subject: Travis McGee (Jean and Walter Shine). 1987 Feb

Series 4F - Publicity and Advertisements

This section contains bestsellers lists, marketing tools, and published advertisements for JDM's novels. The materials are organized alphabetically by novel title.


Box
165 Barrier Island (brochure, tear sheets). 1986 Nov-1987 Feb, Not dated
165 Cinnamon Skin (brochure, tear sheets). 1982 May-Nov, Not dated
165 Condominium (Book and Movie) ( tear sheets, magazine, pop-ups). 1971 Jan-1981 May
165 The Damned (pamphlet). Not dated
165 Darker Than Amber (Movie) (tear sheet). Not dated
165 A Deadly Shade of Gold (tear sheet). 1965 Mar
165 Death Trap (pamphlet). Not dated
165 The Deceivers (pamphlet). Not dated
165 The Dreadful Lemon Sky (tear sheets). 1973 Mar-1976 Oct, Not dated
165 The Drowner (tear sheets). 1963 Jun-Sep
165 The Empty Copper Sea (tear sheets, circulars, brochures). 1978 Aug-1979 May, Not dated
165 The End of the Night (tear sheet). Not dated
165 Free Fall in Crimson (tear sheets, booklet, pamphlet). 1981, Not dated
165 A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald 1967-1974 (tear sheet). Oct (?)
165 The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (tear sheets). 1968 Dec-1969 Jun
165 The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Everything (tear sheets). Feb. 1963, Not dated
165 The Good Old Stuff (tear sheet). Not dated
165 The Green Ripper (tear sheets). 1979 Sep, Not dated
165 I Could Go on Singing (pamphlet, circular). Not dated
165 A Key to the Suite (tear sheets). 1962 May-1967 Jan
165 The Last One Left (tear sheets, radio script). 1966 Oct-1967 Apr
165 The Lonely Silver Rain (circular). Not dated
165 The Long Lavender Look (circular). 1972 Feb
165 Man-Trap (tear sheets). 1961 Sep
165 The Neon Jungle (pamphlet). 1965 Nov
165 Nightmare in Pink (pamphlet, advertising schedule). 1976 Jan, Not dated
165 On the Run (tear sheet). 1963 Jun
165 One Fearful Yellow Eye (bestsellers list). Not dated
165 One More Sunday (circulars, pamphlets, tear sheets). 1984 Mar-Apr, Not dated
165 Pale Grey for Guilt (circular). 1971 Aug
165 Please Write for Details (pamphlet). 1959
165 A Purple Place for Dying (tear sheets). 1976 Aug-Sep
165 The Scarlet Ruse (advertising schedule, circular, tear sheet). 1973 Apr-1980 Apr
165 The Turquoise Lament (tear sheets). 1973 Sep-1974 Jun
165 Where Is Janice Gantry? (tear sheets). 1961 Feb-Apr, Not dated
165 General Promotional Material (tear sheets, poster). 1975 Aug-1978 Feb

Series 4G - Reference Files

The Reference Files contain material relating to research and miscellaneous items. Files are arranged chronologically with non-dated material at the end of the section.


Box
165 Miscellaneous Articles (tear sheets, magazine). 1950-1980
165 Dorothy MacDonald (articles, letters to the editor, personal notes, correspondence, certificates, etc.). 1953-1988
166 Pamphlets, Brochures, Leaflets (miscellaneous information). 1959-1988, Not dated
166 Ringling School of Art (articles, brochures, etc.). 1960-1974, Not dated
166 Raymond D. Fowler Jr., PhD (psychological profiles (JDM, Travis McGee, Meyer, Howard Hughes), correspondence). 1961-1986
166 "The Working Pro" - Newsletter Idea (correspondence, resume, proposal). 1965
166 Writer's Associations (newsletters, memos, schedules, etc.). 1965-1982
166 JDM Journal Entries (may be real and / or invented). 1967 Jan-1968 Feb
166 Articles by John Keasler (tear sheets). 1967 Oct-1968 Aug
166 Dowsing (notes, correspondence). 1967 Nov-1969 Dec
166 Travel (receipts, correspondence, schedules, maps, etc.). 1969-1988
166 Travel (cruise menus, mementos). 1975 Apr
166 Miscellaneous Business Correspondence (to JDM). 1968-1985
166 Notes on Bombay. 1970 Mar, Not dated
166 Travis McGee (articles, certificates, awards). 1972-1987
166 Judging High School Newspapers (tear sheets). 1973 Nov
166 Miscellaneous Environmental Articles, Correspondence. 1978-1983
166 Miscellaneous Articles (tear sheets, magazines). 1981-1988
167 Plagiarism - Dimitri Gat's Books (Nevsky's Return, Nevsky's Demon). 1982, 1983
167 Plagiarism - Dimitri Gat (articles). 1983 Jun-Nov
167 Desk Notes. Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Attitudes Towards Work". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Bahia Mar Marina". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Business Contacts - Where Clients Come From". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Descriptions". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Emotional Attitude". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Female Leads". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Ft. Lauderdale: Real and Imaginary". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Houseboat Specs, Gear, and Operation". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Other Possessions". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Personal History". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Regular Characters". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Skills". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Social Attitudes". Not dated
167 JDM Research on McGee "Tastes-Food, Liquor, Etc.". Not dated
167 Miscellaneous Articles (tear sheets). Not dated
167 Miscellaneous Personal Letters. 1970-1971, Not dated
167 "Western" Notes, Tear sheets of "The Western Story's 'New Look'" by Johnston McCulley. Not dated
167 Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1944-1987, Not dated
167 Miscellaneous Articles. 1980 Jul
167 New College Information. 1984

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.





For further information, please contact: Flo Turcotte, Literary Manuscripts Archivist.

University of Florida Home Page