Skip to Search

A Guide to the John Ormsbee Simonds Collection

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
January 2006

 

John O. Simonds

Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Simonds, John Ormsbee
Title: John Ormsbee Simonds Collection
Dates: 1912-2005
Bulk: 1940-2005
Abstract: Drawings, project files, correspondence, writings, speeches, and other papers of landscape architect John Ormsbee Simonds.
Extent: 173.5 cubic feet. (208 Boxes)
Identification: MS Group 50


Biographical/Historical Note

John Ormsbee Simonds worked for over fifty years as a landscape architect and planner. Beginning in 1940 when he founded his first partnership, Simonds and Simonds, his firms were responsible for planning over 500 projects, including more than 80 planned communities and new towns. In 1970, he was a co-founder of The Environmental Planning and Design Partnership (EPD), with offices in Pittsburgh, Miami Lakes, and Michigan. Primarily national in scope, EPD focused on urban renewal, parks and recreation, and broad-scale regional planning, particularly the development of new communities.

His philosophy of planning was firmly rooted in the Buddhist and Taoist traditions of Asia, to which he traveled frequently throughout his life. These travels taught him the importance of designing experiences, rather than places or things, and the need to promote harmonious relationships between humans and the environment. These concepts were proven in projects such as Mellon Square in Pittsburgh, the Chicago Botanic Garden, and the new towns of Miami Lakes and Pelican Bay in Florida.

Not only by his practice of the profession, but also by his role as educator and author, Simonds was able to significantly affect the field of landscape architecture. Through his teachings and writings, he helped to change the perception of landscape architects from that of plant and garden specialists to environmentalists, urban designers, and regional planners. In 1961 Simonds authored the premier major textbook used in landscape architecture and planning education during the latter half of the 20th Century, Landscape Architecture: The Shaping of Man's Natural Environment. This publication was revised twice under the title Landscape Architecture: A Manual of Site Planning and Design (1983 and 1998), and Simonds was working on a fourth edition at the time of his death in 2005.

Throughout his career, Simonds was an environmentalist who preached the need for planned development in order to ensure the preservation of our natural resources. His working philosophy was: "The great opportunity for true (dynamic) conservation lies in promoting (not blocking) the process of comprehensive land planning whereby the most sensitive, most productive, and most scenic areas are defined and presented in perpetuity."

1913, March 11 Born in Jamestown, North Dakota
1930 Enrolled at Michigan State University
1933-1934 Took a year off from school to live in Borneo and travel throughout Asia
1935 Graduated from Michigan State with a B.S. in Landscape Architecture
1935-1936 Worked for the Civilian Conservation Corps in Big Bay, Michigan (responsible for rehabilitation of land and design of Marquette State Park)
1936-1939 Attended Harvard Graduate School of Design, receiving a Master's in Landscape Architecture in 1939
1939-1940 Traveled to Asia with fellow Harvard graduate and future partner Lester A. Collins
1940 Established Simonds and Simonds partnership in Pittsburgh with his brother, Philip
1941 Could not enlist when U.S. entered WWII because he had contracted malaria during his travels to Asia, but worked on military base projects in Pennsylvania
1943 Married Marjorie C. Todd
1945-1960 Simonds and Simonds practice flourishes during post-war boom and Pittsburgh Renaissance
1952-1970 Partner in Collins, Simonds and Simonds
1955-1967 Served on faculty of Carnegie Institute of Technology (Carnegie Mellon University)
1961 Published Landscape Architecture: The Shaping of Man's Natural Environment
1963-1965 President, American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)
1965 Chair, Urban Parks and Open Spaces panel, White House Conference on Natural Beauty
1965 Principal planner and author of Virginia's Common Wealth, one of the first state action plans for land and resource planning
1966-1968 Member, Federal Highway Administration's Board of Urban Advisors - Simonds edited the board's report, Freeway in the City (1968)
1968-1970 Member, President's Task Force on Resources and the Environment
1970 Simonds and Simonds firm renamed EPD: The Environmental Planning and Development Partnership
1973 Awarded the ASLA Medal, one of the highest honors in the profession
1978 Published Earthscape: A Manual of Environmental Planning
1979-1980 Member, Governor's Resource Management Task Force (Florida)
1983 Retired from EPD, but continued to consult afterwards as partner emeritus
1983 Published second edition of Landscape Architecture: A Manual of Site Planning and Design.
1998 Published third edition of Landscape Architecture: A Manual of Site Planning and Design.
1999 Awarded the ASLA President's Centennial Medal
2005, May 26 Died at the age of 92 at his home in Pittsburgh

Scope and Content

The Simonds Collection is comprised of plans and drawings, project files, correspondence, writings, speeches and lectures, photographs, audiovisual recordings, memorabilia and other material dating from 1912 to 2005. The collection provides an example of the contribution by landscape architects to the land and resource planning in Florida, Pennsylvania, and other regions; a trace of the 20th century transition and development of the profession of landscape architecture in America as exemplified by the professional work, teaching, and writings of one practitioner and the colleagues of his firm; and gives insight into the workings of the institutions, professional groups, and public agencies with which Simonds was associated.

The bulk of the collection consists of project files documenting his design and planning projects completed in numerous states and regions in North America. The majority of the projects represent locations in Pennsylvania, particularly in and around Pittsburgh, and South Florida. Also included are approximately 2500 drawings and renderings for many of the projects undertaken by Simonds and his partnerships, including EPD: Environmental Planning and Design.

The professional and personal correspondence documents his activities as a landscape architect, educator, and author; his relationship with partners, clients, and professional colleagues; and his influence on development and planning in Florida. His professional service activities are well represented in files related to the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) and various state, national, and international task forces and committees. All of his major publications, including multiple editions of Landscape Architecture, as well as numerous other writings are included in both manuscript and published format. Photographs and slides document his professional career, his personal life, and his travels around the world.


Arrangement

The collection is organized into several archival series: Professional Projects, Correspondence, Speeches, American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), Committee and Task Force Service, Writings, Partnerships, Photographs, Travel Files, Audiovisual Recordings, Memorabilia, Drawings and Renderings, and Biographical Information and Miscellaneous Material. Some of these series, such as Professional Projects and Writings, are further subdivided into more specific categories (e.g., Professional Projects - Florida). Within each series, files primarily are arranged alphabetically. The Speeches - Chronological and the Drawings and Renderings series are exceptions to this arrangement.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

During the lifetime of the donors they shall retain all rights of copyright. Upon the death of the surviving donor, copyright shall be assigned to the University of Florida. Permission for reproduction is given by the Department as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the researcher.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], John Ormsbee Simonds Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Ormsbee Simonds and Marjorie Simonds, 1990. Acquired with the assistance of Herrick Smith, former chair of the University of Florida Landscape Architecture department.

Processing History

The Simonds Collection was arranged and described between August 2004 and November 2005. Funding for two graduate student assistants, Brenda Curtis and Nicole Hawkins, was provided by the UF Landscape Architecture Department to complete processing activities. Additional processing was completed by Prof. Kay Williams of the Landscape Architecture Department, and John Nemmers and Jim Silk of Special and Area Studies Collections.


Contents List

Professional Projects 1941-1991

This series consists of project files spanning almost the entire length of Simonds' career. A majority of the projects were undertaken in Pennsylvania, and a large percentage of these were completed in and around Pittsburgh where all of the Simonds partnerships were based. Some of Simonds' more significant projects are represented, including the Chicago Botanic Garden, Equitable Plaza and Mellon Square in Pittsburgh, the Virginia Outdoor Recreation Study, the Pittsburgh Aviary, Interstate 66 in Virginia, and the Army Outdoor Recreation Facilities Manual. Note that the Florida project files have been separated from this series and placed in the "Professional Projects - Florida" series.
The project files typically contain correspondence, meeting minutes, research and background material, notes, invoices, and other documents generated during the design and execution of the projects. Files are arranged alphabetically. For a number of the files within this group the original project numbers, as assigned by the Simonds partnerships, are included in the folder titles. For a list of these project numbers, refer to the "Biographical Information and Miscellaneous Material" series. Note that photographs, drawings and renderings originally found in these files have been transferred to "Drawings and Renderings" series for purposes of preservation and access.

Box 1

Addison Terrace, Pittsburgh (# 688). 1956-1966
Akron Canal Park, Ohio (# 1205). 1969-1974
Akron Canal Park, Ohio (# 1205). 1970-1973
Akron Canal Park, Ohio (# 1205) - Correspondence. 1969-1975
Akron Canal Park, Ohio (#1205) - Telephone and Meeting Notes. 1969-1974
Akron Opportunity Park (# 1164). 1960-1965
Akron Opportunity Park (# 1164). 1968-1977

Box 2

Akron Park East, Ohio (# 1204). 1969-1972
Akron Park East, Ohio (# 1204) - Correspondence. 1969-1976
Akron Park East, Ohio (# 1204) - Cost Estimates. 1969-1972
Akron Park East, Ohio (#1204) - Opportunity Park. 1970-1972
Akron Park East, Ohio (# 1204) - Telephone and Meeting Notes. 1969-1972
Akron Park East, Ohio (# 1204) - Transmittals. 1969-1973
Alfred Agricultural and Technical College, New York (# 913). 1963-1964

Box 3

Alfred Agricultural and Technical College, New York (# 913). 1964-1965
Alfred Agricultural and Technical College, New York (# 913). 1965-1967
Alfred Agricultural and Technical College, New York (# 1069). 1966-1967
Alfred Agricultural and Technical College, New York (# 1069). 1967-1969
Alfred Agricultural and Technical College, New York (# 1069) - Stage II. 1967-1970
Allegheny Center, Pittsburgh (# 744). 1959-1960
Allegheny Center Development, Pittsburgh (# 847). 1961-1965
Allegheny College (# 740) - Landscape Development Program. 1959

Box 4

Allegheny College Dormitory (# 721). 1958-1961
Allegheny Commons Memorial, Pennsylvania (# 1149). 1968-1970
Allegheny Commons, Pittsburgh (# 1060). 1966-1970
Allegheny Commons, Pittsburgh (# 1060). 1966-1970
Allegheny County Community College (# 1134). 1967-1969
Allegheny County Community College (# 1134). 1968-1969
Allegheny County Community College (# 1134). 1968-1971

Box 5

Allegheny County Community College (# 1227). 1970-1971
Allegheny County Community College (# 1227). 1972-1974
Allegheny County Housing (PA 6-2, 6-3, 6-4). 1948-1952
Allegheny County, Pennsylvania - Park Authorizations. 1970-1971
Allegheny County, Pennsylvania - Parks and Lakes. 1959-1966
Allegheny County, Pennsylvania - Parks - Consultant Project Report. 1970
Allegheny County, Pennsylvania - Parks - Meetings, Notes, Miscellaneous. 1961-1972
Allegheny Union Plaza (# 1255). 1985

Box 6

Allison Park Elementary School, Houston, Pennsylvania (# 642). 1956-1961
Allstate Insurance, Pittsburgh (# 1226). 1970-1972
American Hardware Park (# 1338) - Correspondence. 1976-1979
American Hardware Park (# 1338) - General. 1974-1979
Annapolis Campus, U.S. Naval Academy (# 745). 1958-1963
Armco Steel Headquarters (# 1232). 1969-1970
Army Outdoor Recreation Facilities Manual (# 1298). 1975
Army Outdoor Recreation Facilities Manual (# 1298). 1973

Box 7

Army Outdoor Recreation Facilities Manual (# 1298). 1973-1976
Army Outdoor Recreation Facilities Manual (# 1298). 1973-1975
Army Outdoor Recreation Facilities Manual (# 1298) - Originals. 1974
Army Site Planning Manual (# 1326) - Correspondence. 1976-1979
Army Site Planning Manual (# 1326) - General. 1976-1979
Army Site Planning Manual (# 1326) - Meetings and Notes. 1977-1979

Box 8

Atlanta Botanical Garden (# 1349) - Correspondence. 1977-1982
Atlanta Botanical Garden (# 1349) - Cost Estimates, Data, Notes. 1971-1978
Atlanta Botanical Garden (# 1349) - General (Drawings, Notes, Newsletters, etc.). 1977-1983
Atlanta Botanical Garden (# 1349) - Meetings and Notes. 1977-1979
Beaver County Parks, Pennsylvania (# 1286) - Brady's Run, Brush Creek, Homewood Falls. 1970-1977
Beaver Middle School, Pennsylvania (# 1311) - Correspondence. 1975
Beechwood School Playground and Pool, Pennsylvania. 1950-1954
Belle Vernon (Rostraver High), McKeesport, Pennsylvania (# 835a). 1964-1965
Belle Vernon (Rostraver High), McKeesport, Pennsylvania (# 835a). 1966-1967

Box 9

Belle Vernon (Rostraver High), McKeesport, Pennsylvania (# 835a). 1967-1968
Berlin, H. - Residence, Pittsburgh. 1949-1951
Bethel High School (# 692). 1958-1960
Bethel Park Comprehensive Plan (# 821). 1962-1964
Bethel Park Comprehensive Plan (# 821). 1961-1963
Bethel School (Planting), Bethel Park, Pennsylvania (# 849). 1961-1965
Bethlehem Center Junior High School, Pennsylvania (# 1111). 1967-1969
Bethlehem Center Junior High School, Pennsylvania (# 1111). 1967-1970
Bethlehem Joint School, Deemston, Pennsylvania (# 636). 1955-1959

Box 10

Bloom Engineering, Baldwin, Pennsylvania (# 1328). 1976-1977
Bloomfield Playground, Pittsburgh ("The First Multiple Use of Highway R/W in America"). 1949-1951
Borough of Carnegie - Carnegie, Pennsylvania. 1968-1970
Bower Hill Road Apartments, Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania (# 1051). 1966-1967
Boy Scout Service Center, Pittsburgh (# 1018). 1965-1969
Brady's Run Park, Pennsylvania (# 1203). 1969-1978
Broadhead Manor Housing, Pittsburgh (# 818). 1961-1967
Broadhead Manor, Pittsburgh (Improvements). 1949-1951
Brockett, E.D., Jr. - Residence, Pennsylvania. 1950
Brush Creek Park, Pennsylvania (# 1270). 1968-1976

Box 11

Brush Creek Park, Pennsylvania (# 1270) - Correspondence. 1968-1977
Brush Creek Park, Pennsylvania (# 1270) - Correspondence and Transmittals. 1968-1977
Brush Creek Park, Pennsylvania (# 1270) - Data and Information. 1970-1976
Brush Creek Park, Pennsylvania (# 1270) - Meeting Notes. 1968-1977
Buffalo College, New York (# 969). 1964-1968
Buffalo College, New York (# 969) - Campus. 1964-1967
Buffalo College, New York (# 969) - General. 1964-1967

Box 12

Buffalo College, New York (# 969) - Tennis Courts. 1964-1968
Burket, J.Z. - Residence, Greensburg, Pennsylvania. 1949-1950
Burns Heights Housing, Pittsburgh. 1947-1950
Butler County Community College, Pennsylvania (# 1059). 1966-1970
Butler High School, Butler, Pennsylvania (# 939). 1964
Butler Intermediate School, Pennsylvania (# 1228). 1970-1971
Butler Intermediate School, Pennsylvania (# 1228). 1971-1974
Butler Intermediate School, Pennsylvania (# 1228). 1972-1976
Calgon Corporation, Pennsylvania (# 1313). 1965-1974

Box 13

Callery Chemical Company, Pennsylvania. 1953
Canevin High School, Pittsburgh (# 707). 1958-1962
Cannon-McMillan High School, Houston, Pennsylvania (# 622). 1956-1961
Carlynton High School, Robinson, Pennsylvania (# 1083). 1967-1972
Carson School, North Allegheny (# 981). 1963-1970
Carson School, North Allegheny (# 981). 1967-1969
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Correspondence. 1972-1973
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Correspondence. 1974

Box 14

Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Correspondence. 1973
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Correspondence. 1974-1978
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Data and Information. 1972-1973
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Data and Information. 1973-1975
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - General. 1972-1976
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - General. 1972-1976

Box 15

Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - General. 1973-1982
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Meetings and Notes. 1972-1977
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - New York Botanical Presentation. 1972
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Notes, Drawings, Brochures, etc. 1971-1976
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Specifications for Administration and Research Buildings (Costs). 1974-1975
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Specifications for Greenhouse, Maintenance and Administration. 1973-1975
Cary Arboretum (# 1275) - Transmittals. 1972-1978

Box 16

Center City, Cumberland, Maryland (# 1143). 1968-1969
Center City, Cumberland, Maryland (# 1143). 1969
Center City, Cumberland, Maryland (# 1143). 1969-1973
Charleroi Area Junior-Senior High School, Pittsburgh (# 857). 1962-1966
Charleston, West Virginia Interstate (# 1281) - Correspondence and Notes. 1972-1974
Charleston, West Virginia Interstate (# 1281) - Correspondence and Notes. 1973-1975

Box 17

Charleston, West Virginia Interstate (# 1281) - Data and Information. 1972-1975
Charleston, West Virginia Interstate (# 1281) - Data and Information. 1972-1975
Charleston, West Virginia Interstate (# 1281) - Miscellaneous. 1972-1973
Chartiers-Houston Junior-Senior High School (# 641). 1955-1959
Chartiers Valley High School (# 783, 791, 911). 1960-1964
Chattanooga Beautification (# 1085). 1966-1969
Chautauqua Institution Planning, New York (# 747). 1958-1959

Box 18

Chicago Botanic Garden (# 927). 1965-1971
Chicago Botanic Garden (# 927). 1981-1991
Chicago Botanic Garden (# 927) - Master Plan and History of the Garden. 1965-1983
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh (# 635). 1950-1959
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh (# 1151). 1968
Ciboney Estates, Ocho Rios, Jamaica - Development. 1968-1973
Ciboney Estates, Ocho Rios, Jamaica - Planning Consultation. 1969-1973
CINVA - Bogota, Colombia. 1960
City Parks, Pittsburgh. 1950-1953

Box 19

Conservatory Aviary # 2, Pittsburgh (# 1053). 1968-1969
Cook, R.D. - Residence, Pine Township, Pennsylvania. 1948-1952
County Courthouse, Pittsburgh (# 705). 1958-1960
County Home for the Indigent, Allegheny. 1951-1963
County Home for the Indigent, Allegheny. 1951-1963
County Home for the Indigent, Allegheny (John J. Kane Hospital). 1950-1962
Crawford School, Duquesne, Pennsylvania. 1949-1950
Crosstown Planting, Pittsburgh (# 968). 1965
Cumberland, Maryland - George Street (# 923). 1963-1966

Box 20

Cumberland, Maryland - George Street (# 1235). 1965-1971
Cumberland Planting, Cumberland, Maryland (# 1202). 1969-1970
Cumberland Planting, Cumberland, Maryland (# 1202). 1970-1971
Diamond Park, Butler, Pennsylvania (# 1342). 1977
Dixon Street Playground, Homestead, Pennsylvania. 1950-1952
East Hills (Action Housing), Pittsburgh (# 771). 1960-1962
East Hills Apartments (# 942). 1964-1967

Box 21

East Liberty Mall, Pittsburgh (# 980). 1963-1971
East Liberty Mall, Pittsburgh (# 980). 1968-1969
East Liberty Mall, Pittsburgh (# 980). 1970-1972
East Liberty Parking Area, Pittsburgh (# 955). 1964-1965
East Liberty Parking Area # 2 (# 955). 1965-1966

Box 22

East Street Interchange, Pittsburgh (# 1129). 1967-1972
Edgewood Borough, Pittsburgh (# 1352). 1978-1979
Edinboro College Athletic Field, Edinboro, Pennsylvania (# 872). 1962-1967
Elizabeth-Forward School, Pennsylvania (# 626). 1955-1958
Equitable Plaza, Pittsburgh (# 1174). 1969
Erie, Pennsylvania (Penna R-233) (# 958). 1964-1965
Erie, Pennsylvania (Penna R-233) (# 958). 1965-1966
Erin Mills Developments, Canada (# 912). 1960-1964

Box 23

Fayette Campus, Pennsylvania State University (# 1171). 1967-1968
Fayette Campus, Pennsylvania State University (# 1171). 1968-1972
Federal Office Building # 6, Washington, D.C. (# 726). 1958
Federal Reserve Bank, Pittsburgh (# 777). 1960
First Lutheran Church, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 1982
Fontbonne School for Girls, Allegheny County (# 718). 1958-1961
Fort Couch School, Upper St. Clair, Pennsylvania. 1950-1952
Founder's Square, Louisville (# 1091). 1966-1969
Fox Chapel Park, Pennsylvania (# 1086). 1966-1967
Franciscan Fathers' Residence (# 827), Morange Road. 1961-1962
Franklin Elementary School, Munhall, Pennsylvania (# 651). 1955-1957
Franklin Park Elementary School, North Allegheny (# 990). 1965-1968
Frick Park, Pittsburgh (# 727). 1958-1963

Box 24

Fung, Hoy - Residence, Bellevue, Pennsylvania. 1941-1946
Garfield Apartments - Washington, D.C. (# 846). 1960-1965
Gateway Center Building # 6, Pittsburgh (# 1163). 1968-1971
Gateway Park Garage, Pittsburgh (# 709). 1958-1963
Gateway Park Garage, Pittsburgh (# 709). 1958-1963
Genesee River Study, Ontario Beach Park, Rochester, New York. 1979
Glassport High School, Pennsylvania. 1947
Glen-Hazel Revisions, Pittsburgh. 1943-1944
Grandview Park, Pittsburgh (# 701). 1957-1959
Great Meadows Park, Pennsylvania - Phase I (# 1262). 1969-1972
Great Meadows Park, Pennsylvania - Phase I (# 1262). 1970-1972

Box 25

Great Meadows Park, Pennsylvania - Phase I (# 1262). 1970-1972
Great Meadows Park, Pennsylvania - Phase II (# 1264). 1972
Greater Pittsburgh Airport (# 508). 1948-1964
Green Bay Botanical Garden, Wisconsin - Preliminary Survey. 1980
Green Tree - Pittsburgh (# 855). 1961-1964
Green Tree - Pittsburgh (# 855). 1964-1966
Green Tree - Pittsburgh (# 855) - Development and Zoning. 1964

Box 26

Green Tree Comprehensive Plan - Pittsburgh (# 855). 1962-1967
Greenway Middle School, Pittsburgh (# 1225). 1969-1971
Greenway Middle School, Pittsburgh (# 1225). 1970-1972
Greenway Middle School, Pittsburgh (# 1225). 1971
Greenway Middle School, Pittsburgh (# 1225). 1971
Greenway Middle School, Pittsburgh (# 1225). 1972
Greenway Middle School, Pittsburgh (# 1225). 1973-1975
Gumbert School, Allegheny, Pennsylvania (# 1159). 1968-1969

Box 27

Hamilton-Larimer Housing, Pittsburgh (# 725). 1959-1964
Hampton Hall (Apartments), Pittsburgh. 1947
Hampton Township Junior-Senior High School, Pennsylvania (# 655). 1955-1958
Harmarville Rehabilitation Center (# 1358) - Correspondence. 1978-1979
Harmarville Rehabilitation Center (# 1358) - Correspondence. 1979-1980
Harmarville Rehabilitation Center (# 1358) - Notes, Specifications, etc. 1978-1980
Harmarville Rehabilitation Center (# 1358) - Reid-Ritchie Ltd. Programs and Study. 1978-1979
Harry Fowler Playground, Pittsburgh (# 693). 1958-1959
Helzlsouer Residence, Dravosburg, Pennsylvania. 1952
Henderson, Bruce (Residence), Mt. Lebanon (# 599). 1955
Herschel Playground, Pittsburgh (# 700). 1958-1959
Highland Avenue Elementary School, New Castle, Pennsylvania (# 839). 1961

Box 28

Highland Park Zoo Aquarium, Pittsburgh (# 993). 1965-1968
Highland Park Zoo Entrance, Pittsburgh (# 1032). 1965-1970
Highland Park Zoo, Pittsburgh (# 1145). 1965-1968
Highland Park Zoo, Pittsburgh (# 1115) - Heth's Avenue Parking. 1967-1970
Highland Park Zoo, Pittsburgh (# 1115) - Heth's Avenue Parking. 1967-1970
Highland Realty, Meadow Lane, Uniontown, Pennsylvania (# 1157). 1968
Highlands High School, Pennsylvania (# 1008). 1965-1972
Holden Arboretum, Ohio (Geoffrey Rausch). 1985

Box 29

Holy Cross Greek Church, Mt. Lebanon (# 909). 1963-1967
Homestead (Addition 1963), Pittsburgh. 1957-1961
Homestead (Addition 1963), Pittsburgh. 1962-1964
Homestead Playground, Pennsylvania. 1948-1951
Homeville Junior High School Athletic Field. 1947-1948
Hope Natural Gas Company, West Virginia. 1948-1952
Huntingdon Housing, Pennsylvania (# 890). 1954-1969
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1095). 1966-1967

Box 30

Huntington, West Virginia (# 1095). 1967
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1095). 1967-1971
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Contracts and Reports. 1971-1974
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Correspondence. 1971-1973
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Correspondence. 1973-1974

Box 31

Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Correspondence. 1974-1975
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Data and Information. 1971-1974
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Meeting Notes. 1971-1974
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Sidewalks. 1971-1975
Huntington, West Virginia (# 1261) - Telephone Notes. 1972-1975
Indian Township Recreation - Allegheny County, Pennsylvania (# 1209). 1969-1970

Box 32

Indian Township Recreation - Indianola, Pennsylvania (# 1209). 1969-1970
Indiana University Lodge Park (# 1265). 1970-1971
Indiana University Lodge Park (# 1236). 1970-1971
Ingomar Elementary School, Pennsylvania (# 743). 1958-1960
Ingomar Junior High School (# 691). 1958-1960
International Health Center and Allegheny General Hospital (McMaster Group). 1987-1988
Jackson, Mississippi (# 1195). 1969-1971
Jackson, Mississippi (# 1195). 1969-1970
Jekyll Island, Georgia. 1983
Kelly Elementary School, Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania (# 1062). 1968-1971

Box 33

Kilbuck Township (# 1345) - Tax Yield Analysis. 1977
Kiski Area School (# 754). 1958-1966
Kiski School Addition (# 1182). 1969-1970
Kiski School Addition (# 1182). 1970-1971
La Roche College (# 964A). 1964-1969
Landau, Thomas - Residence, Pittsburgh. 1950-1951
Laurel Manor (Retirement Village), Ligonier, Pennsylvania (# 1375). 1979-1980
Leesburg By-Pass, Virginia (# 1278). 1970-1972
Leesburg By-Pass, Virginia (# 1278). 1970-1973
Lhormer, Arch - Residence, Clairton, Pennsylvania. 1949-1950

Box 34

Liberty Bell Plaza, Pittsburgh (# 1346). 1977-1978
Louisville Riverfront (# 1162). 1968-1971
Louisville Riverfront (# 1185B). 1971
Louisville Riverfront (# 1237 and 1242). 1970-1972
Lower Burell, Pennsylvania (# 1154). 1968
Lower Hill Apartments (Deeter and Ritchey, and I.M. Pei) - Washington Plaza. 1961-1964
Lycoming County Court House (# 1180) - Field Reports, Cost Estimates. 1969
Madison Park South, Baltimore (# 1093). 1968-1971
Magee Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 906). 1963-1982
Magee Women's Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1404) - Correspondence. 1978-1981

Box 35

Magee Women's Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1404) - Correspondence. 1979-1984
Magee Women's Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1404) - Data and Information. 1980-1984
Magee Women's Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1404) - Miscellaneous. 1979-1982
Magee Women's Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1404) - Study Findings. 1977
Magee Women's Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1404) - Telephone and Meeting Notes. 1980-1984
Mahoning Creek Lake, Pennsylvania (# 1302) - Correspondence. 1973-1975

Box 36

Mahoning Creek Lake, Pennsylvania (# 1302) - Data and Information. 1973-1975
Mahoning Creek Lake, Pennsylvania (# 1302) - Loose. 1973-1974
Mahoning Creek Lake, Pennsylvania (# 1302) - Telephone and Meeting Notes. 1973-1979
Mahoning Creek Lake, Pennsylvania (# 1302) - Transmittals. 1973-1975
Marshall Township Interchange, Pennsylvania (# 1178). 1968-1969
Marshall Township Interchange, Pennsylvania (# 1178). 1969
Marmaduke Playground, Pittsburgh (# 728). 1958-1960
McKain Ford, Pennsylvania (# 1146). 1967-1968
McKeesport Elementary School (Fifth Avenue). 1952
McKeesport High School, Pennsylvania (# 748). 1958-1962

Box 37

McKeesport Housing, Pennsylvania (# 678). 1957-1959
McKeesport Housing, Pennsylvania (# 678). 1959-1963
McKeesport Parks, Pennsylvania (# 1293). 1973
Medical Center for Women and Children, Pittsburgh (# 1355). 1977-1979
Medical Center for Women and Children, Pittsburgh (# 1355). 1977-1979
Mellon Junior High School (# 1027). 1967-1969
Mellon Junior High School (# 1027). 1965-1967

Box 38

Mellon Junior High School (# 1027) - Field Inspection Reports. 1967-1969
Mellon Square, Pittsburgh. 1957-1984
Milwaukee Expressway (# 1189). 1965-1969
Milwaukee Expressway (# 1189). 1969-1971
Milwaukee Expressway (# 1189) - Correspondence. 1970-1972
Milwaukee Expressway (# 1189) - Correspondence. 1965-1970
Monongahela Valley Catholic High School (# 685). 1956-1959
Montour High School, Pennsylvania (# 1025). 1966-1970

Box 39

Montour Regional, Pennsylvania (# 887). 1965-1967
Montour Regional, Pennsylvania (# 887). 1961-1964
Moon Township School, Allegheny County (# 1312). 1974
Morgantown Riverfront Development, West Virginia - Proposal. 1983
Morganza School, Pennsylvania (# 708). 1958-1962
Mott Haven (Model Cities), New York (# 1138). 1967-1968
Mount Union Housing, Pennsylvania (# 874). 1962-1964
Mount Assisi Academy, Pennsylvania (# 1097). 1966-1970
Mount Lebanon High School (# 1144). 1968-1970

Box 40

Mount Lebanon High School (# 1144). 1970-1971
Mount Lebanon High School (# 1144). 1971-1973
Mount Lebanon High School Track (# 1292). 1970-1973
Mount Lebanon Junior High School (# 711). 1957-1964
Mount Lebanon Parking (# 1191) - Project Notes and Cost Estimates. 1969-1970
Mount Lebanon, Pennsylvania (# 824). 1961-1965
Mount Lebanon, Pennsylvania (# 824). 1961-1962
Mount Lebanon Savings and Loan, Pittsburgh (# 1211). 1972

Box 41

Mount Lebanon Savings and Loan, Pittsburgh (# 1211). 1972
Mount Lebanon Schools (Jefferson and Mellon), Pennsylvania (# 966). 1964-1965
Mount Vernon Elementary School (# 811). 1961-1962
Mount Wright - Steeltown - Montreal (# 1222). 1970
Mount Wright, New Town, Fermont, Quebec (# 1222) - Concept Report by Engineering Consultants. 1970
Mount Wright, New Town, Fermont, Quebec (# 1222) - Directives, Notes, Data, References, etc. 1968-1970
Mount Wright, New Town, Fermont, Quebec (# 1222) - Steeltown Concept. 1970
Musical Arts Association, Cleveland (# 982). 1965-1966
North American Martyrs Church, Monroeville (# 829). 1961-1962
North Braddock, Pennsylvania (# 822). 1962-1964
North Braddock, Pennsylvania (# 822). 1961-1963

Box 42

North Carolina Department of Transportation (# 1390) - Route Between U.S. 221 and N.C. 105. 1972-1981
North Carolina - Interval at Bird Rock Falls. 1972
North Park and South Park, Pittsburgh (# 772). 1968-1971
North Park Skating Rink, Pittsburgh (# 723). 1958-1961
North View Heights Elementary, Pittsburgh (# 788). 1960-1961
North View Heights Housing, Pittsburgh (# 819). 1961-1966
North View Heights, Pittsburgh (# 632). 1958-1966
Northgate Pool, Pittsburgh (# 1413) - Correspondence. 1979-1981

Box 43

Northgate Pool, Pittsburgh (# 1413) - Data and Information. 1979-1981
Northgate Pool, Pittsburgh (# 1413) - General. 1979-1980
Northgate Pool, Pittsburgh (# 1413) - Phone and Meeting Notes. 1979-1981
Northgate Village, Pittsburgh (# 1276). 1968-1972
Northgate Village, Pittsburgh (# 1276). 1972
Northgate Village, Pittsburgh (# 1276). 1970-1972

Box 44

Northside Elementary School/Park (# 1212 and # 1213). 1969-1976
Northside Elementary School/Park (# 1212 and # 1213). 1969-1976
Northwood Estate, Williamsport, Pennsylvania (# 1319). 1974-1977
Northwood Estate, Williamsport, Pennsylvania (# 1319). 1975-1976
Norwin High School, McKeesport, Pennsylvania (# 842). 1961-1969
Ohiopyle State Park. 1969-1971
Ohiopyle State Park. 1976

Box 45

Ohiopyle State Park. 1977
Ohiopyle State Park. 1978
Ohiopyle State Park - Approval Records. 1968-1972
Ohiopyle State Park - Bruner Run. 1977
Ohiopyle State Park - Bruner Run Access Road - Analysis and Feasibility. 1977
Ohiopyle State Park - Comprehensive Master Plan. 1975
Ohiopyle State Park - Correspondence. 1969-1971
Ohiopyle State Park - Falls Area Engineering Surveys and Investigations/Final Cost Estimate. 1972
Ohiopyle State Park - Office and Maintenance/Correspondence. 1973
Ohiopyle State Park - Pre-Final and First Draft - Transportation Study. 1973

Box 46

Ohiopyle State Park - Transit Outline/Sources of Aid. 1973
Ohiopyle State Park - Transit Study. 1974
Ohiopyle State Park - Transportation Study. 1972-1975
Ohiopyle State Park - Transportation Study. 1974
Oliver Plaza, Pittsburgh. 1966-1968
Oratory for Calvary Cemetery, Pittsburgh (# 792). 1960-1961
Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 994). 1965-1969
Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 1309) - Contracts. 1975
Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 1309) - Correspondence. 1974-1977

Box 47

Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 1309) - Correspondence. 1978-1979
Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 1309) - Cost Estimates. 1974-1976
Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 1309) - Data and Information. 1974-1978
Parkersburg, West Virginia (# 1309) - Meeting Notes. 1975-1980
Passavant Hospital (# 816). 1961-1964
Pauline Avenue Parklet, Pittsburgh (# 702). 1957-1959
Penn State University (# 1323). 1975-1976
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Correspondence. 1974-1977
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Correspondence. 1976-1977
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Correspondence. 1977-1978

Box 48

Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Cost Estimates. 1974-1975
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Cost Estimates. 1976
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Data and Information. 1976-1977
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Data and Information. 1974-1976
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Loose. 1976-1977
Penn State University - ESB Happy Valley , Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Loose. 1974
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Phone and Meeting Notes. 1974-1976
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Telephone/Meeting Notes. 1975-1978
Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Transmittals. 1976-1978

Box 49

Penn State University - ESB University Park, Pennsylvania (# 1308) - Transmittals. 1975-1976
Peters Elementary School, Pennsylvania. 1950-1951
Pitt Field House (Athletic Building), University of Pittsburgh (# 758). 1959-1962
Pittsburgh Aviary (# 500). 1949-1953
Pittsburgh Civic Auditorium (# 617). 1952-1963
Pittsburgh Civic Auditorium (# 617). 1952-1963
Pittsburgh Civic Light Opera Amphitheatre (# 505). 1949
Pittsburgh Parks and Playground Society, Pittsburgh (# 1220). 1970
Pittsburgh Three Rivers Stadium (# 1041). 1965-1971
Pittsburgh Three Rivers Stadium (# 1041). 1969-1974

Box 50

Pittsburgh Three Rivers Stadium (# 1041). 1970-1971
Pleasant Hills High School, McKeesport, Pennsylvania (# 868). 1962-1968
Plum Borough Planning Commission, Pittsburgh. 1980
Poff Elementary School, Hampton, Pennsylvania (# 808). 1960-1962
Presbyterian-University Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 885). 1963-1965
Ream Playground, Pittsburgh. 1949-1953
Red Arrow Lodge (Saxman Residence), Ligonier, Pennsylvania. 1946-1948
Regional Development Southwest Pennsylvania. 1969
Regional Industrial Development Corporation, Pennsylvania (# 1259). 1971-1972
Regional Industrial Development Corporation, Pittsburgh (# 888). 1962-1966
Regional Parks, Park # 3 (Boyce Park), Pittsburgh (# 933). 1964-1968
Regional Parks, Park # 3 (Boyce Park), Pittsburgh (# 933). 1968-1970

Box 51

Regional Parks, Park # 3 (Boyce Park), Pittsburgh (# 933) - Four Season Activity Center. 1968-1971
Regional Parks, Pittsburgh (# 933) - General. 1968-1970
Regional Parks, Pittsburgh (# 933) - South Park (Buffalo Inn). 1969-1970
Regional Parks, Pittsburgh (# 933) - General. 1968-1970
Riverfront Park, Pittsburgh (# 1160). 1968-1970
Riverfront Park, Pittsburgh (# 1160). 1968-1971

Box 52

Riverview High School, Oakmont, Pennsylvania (# 1291) - Correspondence. 1973-1978
Riverview High School, Oakmont, Pennsylvania (# 1291) - Data and Information. 1973-1975
Riverview High School, Oakmont, Pennsylvania (# 1291) - Telephone and Meeting Notes. 1975-1977
Robb Hollow Road Elementary School, Pennsylvania (# 896). 1963-1966
Rockwell Manufacturing Company, Pittsburgh (# 877). 1962-1963
Rostraver High School, McKeesport, Pennsylvania (# 835). 1961-1963
Saginaw Riverfront, Michigan (# 1372). 1978-1980
Saginaw Riverfront, Michigan (# 1372). 1978-1980
Saginaw Riverfront, Michigan (# 1372). 1978-1980

Box 53

Saw Mill Run Valley, Pennsylvania (# 1176). 1968-1969
School for Physically Handicapped, Pittsburgh (# 736). 1958-1960
Schwab School, Homestead, Pennsylvania. 1950
Scott Township Park, Pennsylvania (# 763). 1959-1967
Scull Elementary School, Huntingdon, Pennsylvania (# 1094). 1966-1969
Sea Island, Georgia. Not dated
Sea Pines Plantation, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina - Master Plan. 1981
Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Sava, McKeesport, Pennsylvania. 1952
Serra High School (# 826). 1963-1965
Seton Hill College, Pennsylvania (# 662). 1956-1959
Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - Correspondence. 1977-1978
Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - Correspondence. 1976-1977
Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - Data and Information. 1977-1978

Box 54

Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - General. 1977-1978
Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - Phone and Meeting Notes. 1976-1978
Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - Phone and Meeting Notes. 1976-1978
Settler's Cabin Pool, Allegheny County (# 1335) - Reports and Change Orders. 1976-1978
Shadyside Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1136). 1971-1974

Box 55

Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336) - Correspondence. 1976-1981
Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336) - Cost Estimates. 1977
Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336) - Data and Information. 1976-1979
Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336) - Meetings and Notes. 1976-1978
Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336) - Meetings and Notes. 1979

Box 56

Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336). 1977
Shaler High School, Pennsylvania (# 1336). 1976-1978
Shannopin Highlands. Not dated
Sisters of Divine Providence School, McCandless, Pennsylvania (# 731). 1958-1960
Sisters of Mercy Academy, Monroeville, Pennsylvania (# 809). 1961-1964
Smith, Theodore (Residence), Jones Mills, Pennsylvania. 1947-1954
Snowden Township School, Pennsylvania (# 681). 1956-1958
South Bend, Indiana (# 1224) - Cost Estimates. 1971-1972
South Bend, Indiana (# 1224) - General. 1967

Box 57

South Bend, Indiana (# 1224) - General. 1970-1975
South Bend, Indiana (# 1224) - General. 1973-1974
South Bend, Indiana (# 1224) - Maps and Drawings. 1972-1973
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224). 1973-1976
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Correspondence. 1970-1972
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Correspondence. 1972-1973

Box 58

South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Correspondence. 1973
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Correspondence. 1973-1974
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Correspondence. 1974
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Correspondence. 1975-1978
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Data and Information. 1970-1972

Box 59

South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Meeting and Telephone Notes. 1970-1973
South Bend Pedestrian Way, Indiana (# 1224) - Meeting and Telephone Notes. 1973-1975
South Bronx Model Cities (# 1196). 1968-1971
South Central Area Special Services School, Pittsburgh (# 976). 1965-1971
South Central Area Special Services School, Pittsburgh - Phase II (# 1168). 1968-1971
South East Butler County, Pennsylvania (# 944). 1964-1969
South Hills Catholic High School, Mount Lebanon, Pennsylvania (# 639). 1955-1958
South Park, Allegheny County Ports, Pennsylvania. 1945-1947
South Pittsburgh Water Company (# 943). 1964-1966

Box 60

South Strabane Elementary School (# 755). 1959-1966
Southwest Butler Comprehensive Plan - Mars Borough (# 856). 1962-1967
Southwestern Pennsylvania Regional Planning Commission. 1969
Southwestern Pennsylvania Regional Planning Commission (# 1183) - Design Concept Report - 2000 Plan. 1969
St. Agnes Roman Catholic Church, North Huntington (# 760). 1959-1965
St. Clair Memorial Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1310) - Correspondence. 1974-1976
St. Clair Memorial Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1310) - Data and Information. 1974-1976
St. Clair Memorial Hospital, Pittsburgh (# 1310) - Telephone and Meeting Notes. 1974-1979
St. Francis Convent, Mount Alvernia, Pittsburgh. 1949-1950
St. James Roman Catholic Church, Sewickley, Pennsylvania (# 1073). 1966-1970

Box 61

St. Pamphilus Catholic Church, Pittsburgh (# 897). 1963-1971
St. Peter School - Allegheny Center. 1963-1965
St. Raphael Church, Pittsburgh (# 773). 1960-1961
St. Stephen's Church, Sewickley, Pennsylvania (# 817). 1954-1957
St. Thomas A. Becket, Pittsburgh (# 834). 1961-1964
St. Thomas/St. Croix (# 978). 1964-1966
Stewartsville Elementary School, Pennsylvania (# 1121). 1968-1971
Sturgeon Housing, South Fayette, Pennsylvania. 1950-1951
Sunnyview Nursing Home, Pennsylvania (# 1377). 1979