Skip to Search





A Guide to the Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría Papers on Aureliano Sánchez Arango

Finding aid created by Nelissa E. Caraballo-Ramos

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2020



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Sánchez Echeverría, Alfredo.
Title: Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría Papers on Aureliano Sánchez Arango
Dates: 1789-2019
Bulk dates: 1960-1976
Abstract: The collection documents the life of Aureliano Sánchez Arango and his son Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría while they were involved in various counterrevolutionary groups to overthrow the government of Fulgencio Batista and Fidel Castro. The collection includes: correspondence, personal and professional documents, photographs, newspapers, clippings, magazines, articles, and audiovisual materials. The collection dates from 1789 to 2019, with bulk dates from 1960 to 1976.
Extent: 10.28 Linear Feet. 17 boxes and 1 flat box..
Identification: MSS 0523
Language(s): Includes materials written in Spanish and English.

Biographical/Historical Note

Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría was born in Miami, FL on July 13, 1936. From 1958 to 1960, he studied electrical engineering at the University of Havana. He is married to Gladys Chinea Bartlett and had one daughter, Lela Estrella Sánchez.

Since 1960, he joined the fight against the Fidel Castro regime from the organization "Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A)". After a shooting with the police in 1961, he was arrested by the Intelligence Directorate ("Dirección de Inteligencia G2"). He served 14 years of a 30-year sentence in different Cuban prisons. His wife Gladys Chinea Bartlett, was also arrested and served 10 years of a 20-year sentence in prison.

In 1975, he was released from jail and in 1977 emigrated to Venezuela. Returning later in 1980 to the United States where he completed his engineering studies at Florida International University (FIU).

Aureliano Sánchez Arango was born in Havana, Cuba on June 7, 1907 and died in exile in Miami, FL on April 23, 1976. He was married twice, first with Estrella Echeverría Acosta (1907-1961) with whom he had two children: Alfredo and Delia "Lela" Sánchez Echeverría and his second marriage was with Raquel del Valle (1924- ) and they had one child: Aureliano Sánchez Arango, Jr.

Aureliano Sánchez Arango was a lawyer, politician and professor. Since the 1920s, he was involved in fighting dictatorships in Cuba and Latin America. In 1927, he was one of the organizers of the "Directorio Estudiantil Universitario" (DEU, Directory University Student), to protest against the extension of powers of President Gerardo Machado. In 1929, he organized another group of students who were to become the new DEU and in 1931, he was one of the founders of "Ala Izquierda Estudiantil" (Student Left Wing), an organization committed to bringing down the Machado dictatorship.

In 1934, Aureliano Sánchez Arango graduated as a lawyer from the University of Havana. He taught classes in Havana, United States, Costa Rica and Ecuador.

In 1948, he was appointed Minister of Education under the administration of Carlos Prío Socarrás and Minister of State in 1951. During this time, he was accused by the founder of Partido del Pueblo Cubano Ortodoxo, Eduardo Chibás of stealing money from the Department of Education. Faced with the impossibility of showing evidence against Aureliano Sánchez Arango, Chibás committed suicide by shooting himself during a radio broadcast on August 5, 1951.

In 1952, after Fulgencio Batista coup d'état against Carlos Prío Socarrás, Sánchez Arango founded the "Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A)". This organization sought to fight against the regimen of Fulgencio Batista and Fidel Castro. The "Triple A" had different delegations in the United States, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Mexico, Jamaica and Spain.

In June 1960, Sánchez Arango along with other anti-Castro Cubans exiles founded the counterrevolutionary organization "Frente Revolucionario Democrático (FRD)". Its main purpose was to overthrow Fidel Castro and to reestablish a democratic government in Cuba. The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) trained and sponsored the group and organized the invasion operation known as the Bay of Pigs invasion. Three months later, he resigned from the organization and denounced the intervention and motives of the United States in the invasion.

During the 1970s, while in exile in Miami, FL he continued teaching and giving lectures in high schools and universities. He was also an advisor to diplomatic representations of Venezuela and Costa Rica. Throughout his life, he maintained very close relationships with Venezuela's president Rómulo Betancourt and Costa Rica's former president José Figueres, and with other leaders and members of different social democratic parties in Latin America.


Scope and Content

The Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría Papers on Aureliano Sánchez Arango dates from 1789 to 2019, with bulk dates from 1960 to 1976. The materials include correspondence, personal and professional documents, photographs, newspapers, clippings, magazines, articles and audiovisual materials. The collection consists mostly of newspaper clippings and correspondence. The majority of the documents are photocopies, with few originals.

The collection is useful to researchers interested in Cuba during the government of Carlos Prío Socarrás, Fulgencio Batista and Fidel Castro, anti-Castroism and counterrevolutionary groups in the United States.

The collection is arranged by topic in seven series:

Series 1: "Personal and Professional" contains biographical materials, certificates, identification cards, personal papers of Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría and documents related to Estrella Echeverría Acosta. The professional papers include conferences, interviews, speeches and writings, Minister of Education and State files, labor and union organizations files, teaching, and posthumous files. It also contains a photocopy of a travel diary written from the ship "El Aurora/ Nelva" and invitations to political events. It also includes a book written by Lela Sánchez Echeverría on the Eduardo Chibás/ Sánchez Arango controversy.

Series 2: "Correspondence" contains family letters, general and political correspondence. It also includes correspondence from Rómulo Betancourt and José Figueres where they discuss topics related to Cuba, Aureliano Sánchez Arango and Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría.

Series 3: "Subject Files" contains documents related to Costa Rica, Cuba, Cuba-USA relations, Cuba-USSR relations, Venezuela, and political literature.

Series 4: "Collected News Clippings" contains articles written by and about Aureliano Sánchez Arango, clippings on topics such as: communism and socialism, Bay of Pigs invasion, Fidel Castro, counterrevolutionary organizations, Venezuela, Eduardo Chibás, Cuban political prisoners, USA politics, and various columns written by Cubans in exile. It also includes two magazines "El Mundo ¬°Extra!", and "Carteles", and the newspapers of the "Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A)" organization.

Series 5: "Counterrevolutionary Organizations" contains materials related to eight counterrevolutionary organizations in exile: Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A), Frente Revolucionario Democrático (FRD), Frente Unido de Liberación Nacional, Junta Revolucionaria de Liberación Nacional, Movimiento Insurreccional de Recuperación Revolucionaria (M.I.R.R.), Rescate Democrático Revolucionario (RESCATE), Movimiento de Recuperación Revolucionario (M.R.R.), and Partido Revolucionario Cubano (Auténtico). It also includes correspondence of political prisoners who were members of "Frente Nacional Democrático" (Triple A).

Series 6: "Photographs" contains portraits, film negatives, family photographs, and events such as the book presentation of "La Polémica Infinita". It also includes CD-ROM's with photographs of Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events from 1930 to 1976.

The childhood photographs of Estrella Echeverría Acosta were likely part of the unbound children's scrapbook located in folder 1 in the oversized box 16. These pictures were removed and stored together in box 15, folder 20.

Series 7: "Audiovisual Materials" contains cassettes tapes, CD-ROM's and DVD's. It contains speeches, interviews with Aureliano Sánchez Arango, Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría, Ernesto Botifoll, Tony Santiago, Emilio "Millo" Ochoa, and other members of "Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A)". It includes four documentaries: "Aureliano" (2006), "Normadentro" (2011), a documentary about the life of José Antonio Echeverría and a documentary about the smuggling of weapons in Cuba through the ship "El Aurora/ El Nelva". It also contains interviews by Lela Sánchez Echeverría to different associates of Aureliano Sánchez Arango for her book "La Polémica Infinita" (2004).

Box 16 contains oversized documents.

This collection also includes electronic records containing duplicated documents and documents with original content, which have yet to be processed and made available. Please contact the archives for more information.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged by topic.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Reina Peñate de Tito Collection, at the University of Florida.

Carlos González Blanco Collection, at the University of Florida.

Rafael Martínez Pupo Papers Relating to Comandos Mambises, at the University of Florida.

Manuel Ray Oral History Collection , at the University of Florida.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría Papers on Aureliano Sánchez Arango, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría donated the collection in 2019.

Processing Information

The electronic records from this collection are currently unprocessed. Please contact the archives for more information.


Contents List

Series 1: Personal and Professional Papers. 1789-2010



Personal


Box Folder
11 Art exhibition brochure of Cuban painter Jorge Rigol. 2010 March
12 Biographical materials. undated
13 Birth certificate documents related to Estrella Echeverría Acosta. 1945, 1960
14 Christmas Card from Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría to his parents. 1946
16 Funeral Card in memory of Jesús E. Pérez Janeiro. 2009 January 28
17 Genealogy documents related to Francisco Arango y Parreño. 1789-1818
18 Library card "Lyceum. Biblioteca Juvenil" issued to Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. undated
19 Marriage certificate documents related to Estrella Echeverría Acosta and Aurealiano Sánchez Arango. 1945 July- August
110 National Revolutionary Police Force document related to Aureliano Sánchez Arango passport. 1960
111 Page torn from a book with a poem and a picture of Estrella Echeverría Acosta. undated
112 Passport issued to Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. "República de Cuba. Pasaporte". 1957 May 6
113 Pharmacist certificate documents related to Estrella Echeverría Acosta. 1934-1960
114 School certifications, report cards, diplomas and colleges notice letters - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. 1950-1979
115 School record of Universidad de La Habana - Aureliano Sánchez Arango. undated
116 Six school i.d. cards issued to Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. 1948-1955
117 Small notebook with handwritten notes. 1970s
118 Special passport issued to Aurealiano Sánchez Arango. "República de Cuba. Ministerio de Estado. Pasaporte Especial". 1941 June 6
119 Speech pronounced by Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría at "Plataforma Democrática Cubana" in Caracas, Venezuela. 1991 June 17
120 Steno notebook with handwritten notes. undated
121 Three union record official representative cards from Diario Las Américas issued to Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. undated
122 Two migration cards issued to Estrella Echeverría Acosta."Estados Unidos Mexicanos. Servicio de Migración. Registro de Extranjeros". 1935-1936
161 Unbound children scrapbook - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. 1944 October 16


Professional


Box Folder
123 Chibás/ Sánchez Arango controversy - Emilio Llufrio letter to the editors of the Miami Herald. 1988 September 9
124 Chibás/ Sánchez Arango controversy - Book "La Polémica Infinita" by Lela Sánchez Echeverría. 2004
125 Chibás/ Sánchez Arango controversy - Book "La Polémica Infinita" by Lela Sánchez Echeverría. (Photocopy). 2004
126 Chibás/ Sánchez Arango controversy - Book presentation "La Polémica Infinita" by Lela Sánchez Echeverría. Includes event invitations and speeches. 2005 April 23
127 Conferences - Conference of the Communist Parties of Latin America and the Caribbean. Havana, Cuba. 1975 June 13
128 Conferences - Conference of Popular, Democratic Parties and Movements of Latin America. San José, Costa Rica. 1962
129 Conferences - Friedrich-Ebert Bonn First Seminar for Cuban leaders. Costa Rica. 1964 October- December
130 Conferences - Friedrich-Ebert Bonn Seminar. Quito, Ecuador. 1965 February- March
131 Conferences - Congress for Cultural Freedom. Berlin, Germany. 1960 June
21 Conferences - Inter-American Congress for Democracy and Freedom. Caracas, Venezuela. 1960
22 Conferences - Congress for Cuban Unity. Miami, FL. 1961 March 29- April
23 Conferences - Inter-American Association for Democracy and Freedom. Havana, Cuba. 1950 May 12-15
24 Conferences - Organization of American States (OAS). XI Meeting of Consultation of Ministers of Foreign Affairs. Washington, D.C. 1964
25 Debate "El problema cubano". Caracas, Venezuela. 1962
26 Document written by "Estrella Solitaria" Committee titled "13 de marzo de 1957-1983". undated
27 Document related to a research on the education in Cuba. 1960
28 Documents related to "Centro Interamericano de Estudios Económicos y Sociales" (CIDES), "Centro Interamericano de Adiestramiento Político", and the economy in Cuba. 1960-1963
29 Document related to the economy in Cuba from 1959 to 1961. 1960
210 Document related to mining policy. undated
211 Documents related to the Committee on the Opportunity for the Spanish Speaking. 1971
212 Documents related to the integration of different Cuban organizations in exile. 1960
213 Documents related to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (OAS). 1963 March 20
214 Document regarding the Pro-Referendum Committee for Cuban exiles. 1964 April
215 Excerpt from the book "Guamacaro. Biografía de un pueblo cubano". undated
216 Interviews. 1959-1964
217 Interviews. 1965-1966, 1971
218 Invitations to political events. 1962-1974
219 Labor and Union organizations files. 1960-1961
220 List of coded phrases. undated
221 Memorandum on anti-communism and Fidel Castro's government. undated
222 Memorandum on Nicaragua politics. circa 1964
223 Minister of Education - Report for the Cuban Senate. 1949
31 Minister of State - Cuban Mutual Defense Assistance. 1952 March 7
32 Posthumous files - Proposal, four newspaper clippings, and screening invitation for the documentary "Aureliano". 2007
33 Posthumous files - Speeches in memory of Aureliano Sánchez Arango. 1976-1978
34 Speeches - Alcazar Hotel. American Club. Miami, FL. 1967 February 25
35 Speeches - Charity Committee of Cuban Refugees at Nativity Church. Torrance, California. 1966 August 28
36 Speeches - Colleges and Universities (various). 1962-1966
37 Speeches - Meeting of the Association for the Reconstruction of the Cuban Economy (AREC). 1964 April
38 Speeches - San Juan, P.R. 1962-1967
39 Speeches - "To the Meeting of Consultation of Ministers of Foreign Affairs. Washington, D.C.". 1967 September
310 Statements to the Mexican press made by Raúl Roa as the Dean of Social Sciences and Public Law Department. undated
311 Teaching Files - Augusta College. Sioux Falls, South Dakota. 1969-1970
312 Teaching Files - Commentary notes about Ms. Vidaña's thesis on labor legislation in Cuba. 1970 March
313 Teaching Files - Dade County School Board Award (photocopy). 1974 May 31
314 Teaching Files - "Informe de la comisión instructora nombrada para atender a la denuncia presentada ante la Unión de Universidades de América Latina por el claustro de profesores de la Universidad de La Habana en el exilio". 1963 December 13
315 Travel diary from Venezuela to Costa Rica "Barco Nelva" (photocopy). 1958 November
316 Writings - "Agrarian Reform in Cuba". 1960 July 1
317 Writings - "Bahía de Cochinos". 1966 May
318 Writings -"Cinco Argumentos de Facio". undated
319 Writings - "Continuísmo en Venezuela". undated
320 Writings - "Détente". 1974
321 Writings - "EFE". 1974 April
322 Writings - "El P.P.D. y la Izquierda Democrática". 1969
323 Writings - "En defensa de Raúl Roa". 1975
324 Writings - "Five years of revolution". 1964 January 4
325 Writings - "Formosa a la deriva". 1972 February 29
326 Writings - "Fundación de la Universidad de La Habana". undated
327 Writings - "Informe especial para Raúl Roa". 1967 November
328 Writings - "La cultura como la propiedad estatizada". 1974 February
329 Writings - "La llamada revolución cubana". undated
330 Writings - "La tela de Penélope". undated
331 Writings - "Las dos caras de una política". 1968 May
332 Writings - "Minas para la galería". 1972 May 10
333 Writings - "Rómulo". 1964 January
334 Writings - "Sobreestimación del enemigo". 1973 December
335 Writings - "The Bay of Pigs". undated
336 Writings - "The elections in the United States". 1968 July
337 Writings - "The too open society". 1966 June



Series 2: Correspondence. 1945-2007



Box Folder
338 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1959
339 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1960
340 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1961
341 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1962
342 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1962
41 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1963
42 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1963
43 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1964
44 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1964
45 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1965
46 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1965
51 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1966
52 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1967
53 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1967
54 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1968
55 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1969
56 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1969
61 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1970
62 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1970
63 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1971
64 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (1 of 2). 1972
65 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General (2 of 2). 1972
71 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1973
72 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1974
73 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1975
74 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - General. 1976
75 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Family letters. 1954, undated
76 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Carlos Andés Pérez. 1962, 1970-1972
77 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Carlos Lleras Restrepo. 1967
78 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Embassy of Israel. 1971-1973
79 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Guido Grooscors. 1975
710 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political -José Figueres. 1960-1974
712 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Ramón Villeda Morales. undated
713 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Raúl Leoni. 1963-1969
714 Aureliano Sánchez Arango - Political - Rómulo Betancourt. 1951-1976
715 Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría - General. 1987-2007
716 Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría - Family. 1945-1987
717 José Figueres. 1964-1970
718 José Figueres and Rómulo Betancourt. 1960-1969
719 Lela Sánchez Echeverría. 2003-2005
720 Raquel Sánchez Arango (del Valle). 1964-1990
721 Rómulo Betancourt. 1951-1977
81 Rómulo Betancourt letter to Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. 1978 January 2



Series 3: Subject Files. 1901-1979



Box Folder
82 Costa Rica - Declaration of the Democratic Parties of Latin America after President Kennedy speech. 1961 March 28
83 Costa Rica - Documents related to "Escuela Interamericana de Educación Democrática". 1961-1969
84 Costa Rica - Documents related to "Instituto Interamericano de Educación Política". 1960-1962
85 Costa Rica - Inauguration of President Daniel Oduber Quirós. 1974 May 8
86 Costa Rica - Report from Guatemala's military attaché in Costa Rica regarding José Figueres, Fernando Valverde, and other political figures. 1955 October 24
87 Cuba - Event invitation "En honor de la escuadra Americana. Organizado por el Centro de Veteranos. Gran Teatro Tacón". 1901 December 24
88 Cuba - Documents related to Fidel Castro. 1964-1969
89 Cuba - "Fulgencio Batista" by Luis Eduardo Vera. circa 1977
810 Cuba - USA relations - ABC "Issues and Answers" program. Interview with Ernesto "Che" Guevarra by Lisa Howard. 1964 March 22
811 Cuba - USA relations - "Confesiones de un intervencionista" by John P. Roche. 1961 May 24
812 Cuba - USA relations - Court case lawsuit file. "Terry Kane doing business as Agencia de Tractores y Equipos vs. National Institute of Agrarian Reform and Cuba Aeropostal Agency Inc.". 1961 June 8
813 Cuba - USA relations - "Current Cuban-Soviet relationships. The challenge to U.S. policy" by Morris Rothenberg. 1974 July 21
814 Cuba - USA relations - "Manifiesto al pueblo americano y a su congreso" by Natacha Mella. undated
815 Cuba - USA relations - NBC- White Papers program. "Cuba, Bay of Pigs". Reported by Chet Huntley. 1964 February 4
816 Cuba - USA relations - NBC- White Papers program. "Cuba, the missile crisis". Reported by Chet Huntley. 1964 February 9
817 Cuba - USA relations - Speech by Edwin M. Martin "Lineamientos de la política de los E.U. sobre los refugiados cubanos". 1963 June 24
818 Cuba - USA relations- Statement made by Edwin M. Martin before the Senate Subcommitte on Refugees and Escapees. 1963 May 22
819 Cuba - USA relations - The American Legion. Resolution No.414 . "Cuba and the Monroe Doctrine". 1963 September 10-12
820 Cuba - USA relations - "There is no hurry to resume relations with Cuba" by Dr. Leon Goure. undated
821 Cuba - USA relations - "Yankee listen" by Vicent J. Hannard. undated
822 Cuba - USSR relations - "Sea power: U.S. vs. U.S.S.R." by Richard Burt. 1974 August 30
823 Cuba - USSR relations - "Soviet military binds Cuba hard and fast" by Leon Goure. 1975 March 8
824 Cuba - USSR relations- Speech by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn at the Washington Hilton Hotel by invitation of the AFL-CIO. 1975 June 30
825 Cuba - USSR relations - Suslov speech at the first Cuban Party Congress. 1975 December 23
826 Political Literature - "Batista padre del comunismo" by Vladimir Álvarez. 1959
827 Political Literature - Gus Hall writing's on "Détente". 1974
828 Political Literature - "Las teorías del castrismo" by Theodore Draper. 1961 June
829 Political Literature - Stefan Baciu writing's on communism, socialism, and Latin America. 1970, 1979
830 Political Literature - Tristán Marof writing's on Ernesto "Che" Guevara and Bolivia. 1968
831 Venezuela - Confidential memorandums from the Venezuelan embassy in Havana, Cuba. 1950
832 Venezuela - Confidential reports from dictator Marcos Pérez Jiménez regarding José Figueres, Rómulo Betancourt, Aureliano Sánchez Arango, and others. 1952
833 Venezuela - Inauguration of President Raúl Leoni. 1964 March 11
834 Venezuela - Letter from President Carlos Andrés Jiménez to Gerald Ford. 1974 September 19
835 Venezuela - Letter from Rafael Paredes Urdaneta (Consul General of Venezuela in Germany) regarding the Conference for Democracy and Freedom held in Havana, Cuba. 1950 May 13
836 Venezuela - Photocopy of a Christmas card from President Carlos Andrés Pérez. 1976
837 Venezuela - Rómulo Betancourt - "Cuba". circa 1977
838 Venezuela - Rómulo Betancourt - "Venezuela democrática: Frente a Trujillo y frente a Castro". 1964 July
839 Venezuela - "The President of Venezuela responds to the President of the United States". 1974 September 9
840 Venezuela - "Venezuela's Castroites - Militant but weak". undated



Series 4: Collected News Clippings. 1949-2019



Box Folder
841 Articles - Aureliano Sánchez Arango publications. 1958-1975
91 Articles - Communism and socialism. 1974 July 1, 1975 April 15
92 Articles - "Cuba: The Record Set Straight". 1961 September
93 Articles - Détente. 1974 June, 1975 April 30
94 Articles - "Los mitos políticos del exilio frente al comunismo en Cuba" by Ricardo Puerta. 1965
95 Articles - Open letter to journalists in Uruguay. 1973 June
96 Articles - President of Venezuela Raúl Leoni. circa 1969
97 Magazines - "Carteles". 1965 January 15
98 Magazines - "El Mundo ¬°Extra!". 1961 January
99 Newspapers - "Diario Las Américas" (Miami, FL). 1976 April 25
910 Newspapers - "El Universal" (Caracas, Venezuela). 1976 April 26
911 Newspapers - "La Información" (Texas) (1 of 2). 2005-2006
912 Newspapers - "La Información" (Texas) (2 of 2). 2005-2006
913 Newspapers - "La Opinión" (Los Angeles, CA). 1976 July 7
163 Newspapers - "Libre" (Miami, FL). 2017-2019
914 Newspapers - "Liberación" (New York) (1 of 2). 1962-1970
915 Newspapers - "Liberación" (New York) (2 of 2). 1962-1970
101 Newspapers - "Liberación" (Puerto Rico). 1967
102 Newspapers - "Triple A Insurgente". 1960-1962
103 Newspapers - "Triple A Insurgente". 1964-1966
104 Newspapers clippings - 1940 Constitution. 1961 March
105 Newspapers clippings - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. 1961-1977
106 Newspapers clippings - Armando Arbucias columns. 1986-1995
107 Newspapers clippings - Aureliano Sánchez Arango (1 of 6). 1949-2007
108 Newspapers clippings - Aureliano Sánchez Arango (2 of 6). 1949-2007
109 Newspapers clippings - Aureliano Sánchez Arango (3 of 6). 1949-2007
1010 Newspapers clippings - Aureliano Sánchez Arango (4 of 6). 1949-2007
111 Newspapers clippings - Aureliano Sánchez Arango (5 of 6). 1949-2007
112 Newspapers clippings - Aureliano Sánchez Arango (6 of 6). 1949-2007
113 Newspapers clippings - Bay of Pigs Invasion (1 of 3). 1961-1969
114 Newspapers clippings - Bay of Pigs Invasion (2 of 3). 1961-1969
115 Newspapers clippings - Bay of Pigs Invasion (3 of 3). 1961-1969
116 Newspapers clippings - Carlos Prío Socarrás. 1977, undated
117 Newspapers clippings - Consejo Revolucionario Cubano. 1961
118 Newspapers clippings - Cuba Tricontinental. 1966-1968
119 Newspapers clippings - Eduardo Chibás. 1951-2005
1110 Newspapers clippings - Embargo on Cuban books. 2004
1111 Newspapers clippings - Emilio Martínez columns. 2005-2006
121 Newspapers clippings - Escambray Rebellion. 1961-1965
122 Newspapers clippings - Fidel Castro. 1961-1987
123 Newspapers clippings - Frente Revolucionario Democrático (FRD). 1961
124 Newspapers clippings - Frente Unido de Liberación Nacional. 1961-1963
125 Newspapers clippings - Jorge Rigol Lomba. undated
126 Newspapers clippings - José Figueres. 1950-1990
127 Newspapers clippings - Manuel Secades y Manrara column. undated
128 Newspapers clippings - Organization of American States (OAS). 1963-1969
129 Newspapers clippings - Political prisoners. 1961-1978
1210 Newspapers clippings - René Viera columns. 1953-1978
1211 Newspapers clippings - Rómulo Betancourt and Venezuela. 1960-1981
1212 Newspapers clippings - USA politics. 1964-1996
1213 Newspapers clippings - Víctor Vega Ceballos columns. 1976, 1980



Series 5: Counterrevolutionary Organizations. 1959-1978



Box Folder
1214 Consejo Revolucionario Cubano. 1963 October 9
1215 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Booklets. 1959, 1972, undated
1216 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Florida. 1963-1964
1217 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Jamaica. 1961
1218 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Los Angeles, CA. 1963-1970
131 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Mexico. 1960-1963
132 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - New York, N.Y. (1 of 2). 1960-1966
133 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - New York, N.Y. (2 of 2). 1960-1966
134 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Puerto Rico. 1960-1963
135 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Spain. 1961-1962
136 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Texas. 1961
137 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Venezuela (1 of 2). 1960-1974
138 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Venezuela (2 of 2). 1960-1974
139 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Delegations - Washington, D.C.. 1961-1972
1310 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - General Documents (1 of 4). 1959-1978
141 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - General Documents (2 of 4). 1959-1978
142 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - General Documents (3 of 4). 1959-1978
143 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - General Documents (4 of 4). 1959-1978
144 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Political Prisoners Correspondence - Adelina "Chichi" Mora. 1963-1969
145 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Political Prisoners Correspondence - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría and family relatives (1 of 2). 1963-1975
151 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Political Prisoners Correspondence - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría and family relatives (2 of 2). 1963-1975
152 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Political Prisoners Correspondence - Emilio Llufrio. 1971
153 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Political Prisoners Correspondence - Mario Escoto. 1967, 1969- 1976
154 Frente Nacional Democrático (Triple A) - Political Prisoners Correspondence - Venezuela. undated
155 Frente Revolucionario Democrático (FRD). 1960-1962
156 Frente Unido de Liberación Nacional. 1960-1961
157 Frente Unido Revolucionario. 1961-1962
158 Junta Revolucionaria de Liberación Nacional. 1960-1961, 1967
159 Movimiento Insurreccional de Recuperación Revolucionaria (M.I.R.R.). 1961 April 25
1510 Movimiento de Recuperación Revolucionaria (M.R.R.). 1963-1964
1511 Movimiento Patriótico Cuba Libre. 1964 March 7
1512 Partido Revolucionario Cubano (Auténtico). 1970 February
1513 Rescate Democrático Revolucionario (RDR). 1963 June 27



Series 6: Photographs. 1908-2010



Box Folder
1514 Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría. circa 1940-2000
162 Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría large childhood photograph (12"x 10"). circa 1937
1515 Aureliano "Mayo" Sánchez Arango, Jr. wedding. 2000
1516 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at the Congress for Democracy and Freedom in Havana, Cuba. 1950
1517 Aureliano Sánchez Arango with dignitaries. 1950
1518 Book presentation of "La Polémica Infinita" at Miami, FL. (Printed on regular copy paper). 2005
1519 Film Negatives. undated
1520 Five childhood photographs of Estrella Echeverría Acosta. circa 1908-1912
1521 Lela Sánchez Echeverría. circa 2000-2010
1522 Portrait of Aureliano Sánchez Arango. 1952
1523 Portrait probably of Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría great grandmother. 1900s
1524 Sixteen photographs of Aureliano Sánchez Arango visit to Guatemala. 1950s
1525 Two photographs of documents related to Rafael Acosta y León (Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría grandfather) while he was serving in the "Ejército Libertador de Cuba" (includes a short biography and a handwritten note). undated
1526 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events and family photographs (CD-ROM). (2 copies). 1930-1976
1527 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events and family photographs. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1915-1976
1528 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM). circa 1950-1970
1529 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1961-1974
1530 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1950-1967
1531 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1961
1532 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1961-1971
1533 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1959-1971
1534 Aureliano Sánchez Arango at different political events. (CD-ROM, PDF files). 1945-1966
1535 Book presentation "La Polémica Infinita" at Miami, FL. (CD-ROM). (2 copies). 2005



Series 7: Audiovisual Materials. 1957-2011



Audio (CD-ROM, Cassette tapes).


Box Folder
171 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría and Roberto Simeón interview on "Cadena Azul" radio station. undated
172 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interview on "Cadena Azul" radio station. (Includes recording of children practicing Spanish and English). undated
173 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interview on "Radio Periódico". undated
174 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Elier Rodríguez. 2000s
175 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio (includes instructions for Cadillac DeVille automobile). 2000s
176 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (1 of 6). 2006
177 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (2 of 6). 2006
178 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (3 of 6). 2006
179 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (4 of 6). 2006
1710 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (5 of 6). 2006
1711 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (6 of 6). 2006
1712 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Ignacio Fiterre. 2000s
1713 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Orlando. 2000s
1714 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Rolando Reyes. undated
1715 Cassette tapes - Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría interviews Serafina on traveling to Cuba. undated
1716 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview at Alexandria, Virginia (1 of 5). 1972
1717 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview at Alexandria, Virginia (2 of 5). 1972
1718 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview at Alexandria, Virginia (3 of 5). 1972
1719 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview at Alexandria, Virginia (4 of 5). 1972
1720 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview at Alexandria, Virginia (5 of 5). 1972
1721 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on "La Cubanísima" radio station. 1974
1722 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on "La Cubanísima" radio station (includes music from The Osmonds, 2 copies). 1974
1723 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on "La Fabulosa" radio station. 1974
1724 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on "La Fabulosa" radio station. 1973-1975
1725 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on "La Fabulosa" radio station "La Actualidad" program. 1974
1726 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on "TV Canal 23" (2 copies). 1976
1727 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on TV Channel 51 "Ante La Prensa" program. 1974
1728 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview on the nationalization of oil supplies in Venezuela. 1970s
1729 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interview with Juan Amador Rodríguez (3 copies). 1973
1730 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interviews on "La Cubanísima" and "La Fabulosa" radio station. 1974-1975
1731 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango interviews on "La Cubanísima" radio station and "TV Canal 23" (2 copies). 1975-1976
1732 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango conference at Florida International University (1 of 2). 1973
1733 Cassette tapes - Aurealiano Sánchez Arango conference at Florida International University (2 of 2). 1973
1734 Cassette tapes - Ernesto Botifoll interview on "Presidio político" radio program. undated
1735 Cassette tapes - Frank Escobar interviews Orlando de Cárdenas (1 of 3). undated
1736 Cassette tapes - Frank Escobar interviews Orlando de Cárdenas (2 of 3). undated
1737 Cassette tapes - Frank Escobar interviews Orlando de Cárdenas (3 of 3). undated
1738 Cassette tapes - "La canción del preso político cubano. Isla de Pinos" by Alelí Carrerá and Alejo Cossio. 1986
1739 Cassette tapes - Venezuela radio program "La democracia en acción" and "El hombre al que el tiempo le dio la razón" with Carlos Andrés Pérez. undated
1740 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Agustín Tamargo and Enrique Ros. 2000s
1741 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Cucú Bringuier and Roberto Verdaguer. 2000s
1742 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (1 of 6). 2000s
1743 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (2 of 6). 2000s
1744 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (3 of 6). 2000s
1745 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (4 of 6). 2000s
1746 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (5 of 6). 2000s
1747 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Llufrio (6 of 6). 2000s
1748 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Ochoa Ochoa (1 of 2). 2000s
1749 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Emilio Ochoa Ochoa (2 of 2). 2000s
1750 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Ignacio Fiterre. 2000s
1751 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Inés Segura Bustamante. 2000s
1752 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Raúl Martínez Ararás and Carlos Bustillo. 2000s
1753 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Sara del Toro de Odio. 2000s
1754 Cassette tapes - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews Tony Santiago. 2000s
1755 Cassette tapes - Manuel Villanueva "La Montaña" music album (autographed). 1990
1756 Cassette tapes - Radio Mambí "Mesa Redonda" talk show discussing Fidel Castro and communism with Felícito Rodríguez (member of "Unión Liberal Cubana"). undated
1757 Cassette tapes - Sara Kourí "Al Irme de tus Playas" music album (autographed). 1998
1758 Cassette tapes - "Torricelli" and "Cuban Democracy Act". 1991
1759 Cassette tapes - Tribute event to Carlos Andrés Pérez in Venezuela. undated
181 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango interviews and speeches. 1961-1972
182 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango interviews and speeches in Puerto Rico and Venezuela. 1961
183 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango interviews and speeches. A press conference by John Crimmins (Coordinator of Cuban affairs) and English radio news. 1961-1964
184 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango interviews and speeches. A radio interview with Carlos Prío Socarrás. 1961-1966
185 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango interviews and speeches. An interview with Manuel Ray (founder of Junta Revolucionaria Cubana J.U.R.E.). 1962-1974
186 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango interviews, speeches, and various English radio news. 1963-1969
187 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango radio and TV interviews. 1972-1975
188 CD-ROM - Aureliano Sánchez Arango speech addressing Cuban groups in exile (2 copies). undated
189 CD-ROM - J.A. Bufil interviews Aureliano Sánchez Arango on the history of Cuba during the 20th Century (3 copies). circa 1972
1810 CD-ROM - José Antonio Echeverría audio recording from "Radio Reloj" radio station on the attack against the Presidential Palace in Havana,Cuba (2 copies). 1957
1811 CD-ROM - José Antonio Echeverría speech. circa 1957
1812 CD-ROM - Lela Sánchez Echeverría interviews José Pardo Llada for her book "La Polémica Infinita" (2 copies). 2004
1813 CD-ROM - Mario Escoto interview at "La Cubanísima" radio station. circa 1978


Video (DVD-RW).


Box Folder
1814 DVD - Book presentation of "La Polémica Infinita" by Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría and Tony Santiago (3 copies). 2005
1815 DVD - "Cineperiódico". News related to Cuban history from March 10 1952 until the Cuban Revolution in 1959 (3 copies). undated
1816 DVD - Documentary "Aureliano" by Olga María Braceras and Frank Escobar (2 copies). 2007
1817 DVD - Documentary "Aureliano" by Olga María Braceras and Frank Escobar (8 DVDs with raw footage). 2007
1818 DVD - Documentary "Normadentro" by Axel Arzola and Joel Suárez (2 copies). 2011
1819 DVD - Documentary on the smuggling of weapons in Cuba through the "El Aurora/ El Nelva" ship (2 copies). undated
1820 DVD - Documentary related to the life of José Antonio Echeverría. undated
1821 DVD - Footage related to the attack against Aureliano Sánchez Arango at the Havana airport (no audio, 2 copies). 1960
1822 DVD - "TV Martí" special program on the life of Aureliano Sánchez Arango (2 copies). 2008
1823 DVD - "TV Martí" special program with Juana Isa on the life of Aureliano Sánchez Arango. Interviews with Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría, Pedro Fuentes Cid, Tony Santiago, and Emilio Llufrio. 2007
1824 DVD - TV program "A Mano Limpia". Interviews related to José Antonio Echeverría. 2007
1825 DVD - TV program "Buenos Días Miami". Interviews related to the 50th anniversary of the attack against the Presidential Palace in Havana led by José Antonio Echeverría. 2007
1826 DVD - TV program "Buenos Días Miami". Interviews with Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría, and Tony Santiago regarding the book "La Polémica Infinita" written by Lela Sánchez Echeverría. 2005
1827 DVD - TV program "Buenos Días Miami". Tomás García Fusté interviews Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría, Ernesto Botifoll, and Emilio Llufrio (2 copies). 2007
1828 DVD - TV program "Detrás de la Noticia". Interview related to José Antonio Echeverría. 2007
1829 DVD - TV Program "Protagonistas". Interview with Emilio "Millo" Ochoa (2 copies). 2006
1830 DVD - TV programs "Detrás de la Noticia" and "A Mano Limpia". Interviews related to José Antonio Echeverría. 2007
1831 DVD - TV programs "Detrás de la Noticia" and "Carlos Pérez Pregunta". Interviews related to José Antonio Echeverría. 2007



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Anti-communist movements.
Counterrevolutionaries.
Cuba.
Frente Nacional Democrático, Triple A.
Frente Revolucionario Democrático (FRD).
Political prisoners.
Politics and government.
Revolution (Cuba : 1959).
Sánchez Arango, Aureliano, 1907-1976.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page