A Guide to the Programa Puno-Tambopata

Finding aid created by Nelissa E. Caraballo-Ramos

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2020

Biographical/Historical Note

The Puno-Tambopata Program (PPT) was established in 1955, it was organized and implemented by the Ministry of Labor and Indigenous Affairs with the participation of the Ministries of Public Health and Social Assistance, Education and Agriculture in cooperation with the Andean Mission of the United Nations. The program took place in four rural areas of the department of Puno, in the areas of greatest geographic concentration of the Peruvian highlands, near Lake Titicaca, and the Alto Tambopata valley in the mountains. The program had four main centers of operations: Chucuito (Puno Province), Camicachi (Chucuito Province), Taraco (Huancané Province), and San Juan del Oro (Sandia Province). As part of the program, several anthropological, geographical, agricultural, and public health studies were carried out in different parts of Puno, such as; Ilave, Villurcuni, Vilquechico, Taraco, Chucuito Province, Amantaní, and others.

The Puno-Tambopata Program (PPT) had four main goals: the economic rehabilitation of the indigenous farmers through the introduction of new techniques in agricultural exploitation and the promotion of handicrafts and rural industries, the improvement of general living conditions through the adequate use of the farmer's skills and available resources, the professional training of the labor force that migrates to other parts of the country, and the assistance to spontaneous migrations to the sub-tropical valleys of the region.

In 1961, the program transferred its direction and executive responsibility to Peruvian officials and was included in the "National Plan for the Integration of the Indigenous Population (PNIPA)", which its main objective was the "integration" of the indigenous population to the "national life." The PNIPA program ended in 1968 at the end of the Presidency of Fernando Belaúnde.

Scope and Content

The Puno- Tambopata Program Collection consists of nine typewritten documents from 1955 to 1960. The collection contains reports, work plans, and research on the Puno-Tambopata Program (PPT) for the Ministry of Labor and Indigenous Affairs. The collection is useful to researchers interested in Andean Studies, ethnographic research, and topics such as colonialism and cultural assimilation.

The collection contains reports and work plans from the Puno-Tambopata Program from 1957 to 1960. In these reports, they discuss the main activities of the program: vocational training, rural welfare and crafts, agriculture, education, health, migrations, administration, and anthropological studies in the region. The collection contains two ethnographic and one agricultural research conducted in 1958 and 1960. The ethnographic research from 1958 was directed by Pedro Ortíz Vergara and Raúl Galdo Pagaza and it focused on the island "Amantaní" (Province of Puno), where they studied the population's social organization and economy. In 1960, the research led by Abner Montalvo Vidal and Raúl Galdo Pagaza focused on the traditional crafts and their possibilities for the development of the Chinchera community in Puno. The agricultural research was conducted in 1960 by the geographer, Juan Papadakis on the experimental farming of pastures and forages of exotic species in the highlands of Peru.

The collection also contains one document related to the "Junín" Program, which had the same goals as the Puno-Tambopata Program (PPT) and was also directed by the Ministry of Labor and Indigenous Affairs. National Plan for the Integration of the Indigenous Population (PNIPA).

Arrangement

The collection is arranged in alphabetical order.

Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0561_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Programa Puno-Tambopata , Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Paul Doughty donated the collection in 2017.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Anthropology.
Colonization.
Indians of South America--Cultural assimilation.
Instituto Indigenista Peruano.
Peru.
Peru--Puno (Region)
Programa Puno-Tambopata.

For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

Staff Web | Staff Directory | Departments | Privacy Policy